Marble Swirl Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I followed other people's suggestions and cut back on the flour and only used 2 and 3/4 cups..everything else was the same. It tastes great!! I really didnt expect it to taste so good but mann was it yummy...everyone loved it and its already half gone. I had extra chocolate batter b/c i didnt divide it evenly so i baked it in a smaller pan. My dad who will not TOUCH chocolate ate the whole thing!! Try it..it is sooo good!! BTW - to get a good swirl effect going..alternatively spoon the batter in the pan in a sort of checkerboard pattern...and you dont have to swirl it using a spoon or anything...itll bake up fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I followed the original recipe and it turned out to be too dry. Too much flour. Then I read the reviews and realised that indeed the flour should be reduced. If the flour amount is correct, it would be a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This pound cake is excellent. I followed the suggestions of others and used less flour and it turned out perfect. I also used a recipe for chocolate icing found on this website. I drizzled it over the cake - YUMMY! I DEFINTELY WILL MAKE THIS CAKE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollis, New York, USA
Living In: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Like the most recent post, I took the advice of others and decreased the amount of flour. My family thought it was very tasty and it will definately become a "to keep" recipe ;) The only thing different was that my cake took at least an hour and a half to bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Wonderful Cake! I took the advice of many & decreased the amount of flour by a half a cup and only cooked it for 50 minutes and it was a hit! Used it for my cake business & the customers were very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I, also found this cake too dry. Unfortunately I didn't read the reviews until I had already mixed it up, but I still had time to add an extra egg, probably about another 1/2 c. milk, and about 1/4 sugar to the chocolate half. Didn't make a difference, it was still dry. If I try this recipe again, I would definitely cut the flour down, at least 1/2 cup less than suggested. Disappointing for a pound cake with so many eggs in it to still be dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I wanted to use up some cake flour, and decided on this recipe. The batter was better than the cake. The finished product was a bit dry even with the decreased amount of flour. Average at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkjanke

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Lantana, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by allisonmignon
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I followed many of the other reviews tips and lessened the flour (3 cups, minus 2 tbs per cup of all purpose flour). I also added about 1/2 cup of chocolate chips to my cake, sooo good! Baked for 50 min in a bundt pan, cake was moist and perfect with some powdered sugar on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allisonmignon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Marble cake is one of my husband's favorites, but though I've tried many recipes, I've had a hard time finding what we consider the perfect texture - flavorful, somewhat dense, and moist. Well, this is it! As others said, cut the flour to 3 c. and the baking time to 50 minutes. I also used a bit more cocoa. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TrixieDarty
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I thought this cake was a little dry. It taste good but it wasnt the best Marble Cake Ive ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrixieDarty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Satanta, Kansas, USA
Living In: Brigham City, Utah, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States