Marble Swirl Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This was very easy to make and I definitely recommend following katieluvs2bake's suggestions on how to mix the ingredients (find her review from 2008). If you layer and twist the 2 colors it turns out lovely in a bundt pan. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Very nice pound cake with just the right amount of sweetness. I cut the recipe in half and baked it in a 9x5 inch glass baking dish. I creamed the butter and sugar together, then added the eggs and vanilla (2 tsp.). I cut the cake flour down to 1 and 1/2 cups and mixed the dry ingredients together then added that to the creamed mixture alternately with the milk, starting and ending with the flour. I then removend part of the batter and added the cocoa and twisted the layers to obtain the marlbed effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
It came out rather dry and was not sweet enough, in my opinion. I may try to alter the recipe, but more than likely I will just try a different one next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I followed the other reviews and decreased my flour to 3 cups. My cake did turn up moist and not dry at all. However, the taste is not the greatest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe_cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
it was pretty easy to make. turned out great but a bit too heavy and dry for me, but i guess that's how a pound should taste like. my friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I used 3 cups of flour and mixed batter in traditional way. Nice density and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Surita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Yup, cut down to 3 cups flour and bake for 50 minutes. I added 2 tsp instant coffee dissolved in 1 Tbs hot water to the chocolate portion and I upped the vanilla to 1 Tbs in the whole batter to ensure the vanilla portion had strong vanilla flavor. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I came across this recipe last night and decided to give it a try. I was a bit hesitant because all the reviews said they changed it in some way. So I decided to make a few alterations myself: I replaced the 1 cup of butter with 1/2 cup of oil and 1/4 cup of apple sauce. I replaced the 2 cups of white sugar for 1 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar. I used 3 cups of whole wheat flour. Left out the salt. Everything else remained the same as the original. First, I creamed the oil, applesauce and sugars together. Then I added eggs in one at a time, followed by vanilla extract. In a separate bowl sift together flour and baking powder. Alternatively add in flour mixture and milk, 1/3 at a time. Mix together. Remove 2 1/2 cups batter and separately add in the cocoa powder. Butter and flour the pan you'll be using. Add in 3/4 of the chocolate batter, top with all the white batter, and then spoon in the remaining chocolate batter and spread with a knife. Use a whisk to mix batter and give it marbled effect. Bake for 60 minutes at 350F. ENJOY WITH A CUP OF MILK! :) Using this variation, it'll come out healthier and not as sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I tried this recipe and bake the cake for my family and they absolutely love that!!! Its not too sweet either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Great recipe, I read the members views before trying this and it turned out just delicious and fluffy,,, thanks,,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States