Marble Swirl Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I've done this cake twice also, one time for my fiancee's birthday where my 2 little brothers (7 and 6) ate the cake in cupcake form without even needing buttercream! My mom also loved them so I ended up making them again for her birthday today and everyone still loves it. This will definitely be on my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AbbyJackson
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I made this and it came out alittle to dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I tried this recipe. It was just enough to make 2 loaves. It was really simple to follow. Tasted delicious. Not too sweet, nice and soft! Will definitely repeat this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
It turned out great... Just a slight change though I replace coco powder with melted semi sweet chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paige
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I reduced the flour and used cake flour as suggested and in the recipe but the cake was not sweet enough as some mentioned. It was light but bland. The chocolate part tasted little of chocolate. I think that to make a real. chocolate cake you have to use semisweet baking chocolate. Very disappointed and will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Very dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and in my household everyone was hiding it just to get another piece! It was gone in 2 days! The only thing i changed is that i used a bunt pan to bake the cake. It turned out to have a crisp outside and a moist inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Like many others, the recipe AS WRITTEN DID NOT WORK for me. It came out dense to the point of tough; dry, and not edible to the kids. I tried it a second time, following the many excellent suggestions to reduce flour, change sequence of preparation, etc. The result was dense and MOIST and quite tasty. Here's what I changed: **Flour reduced to 3cups. **Baking powder increased to 2tsp. **Doubled the vanilla increased cocoa powder to 1/3 cup of more. **also used brown sugar instead of white, cause that's what I had. **Whipped butter then sugar for a long while. **Added eggs one at a time, beating til smooth each time. **Added flour-mix and milk in alternating thirds, mixing just enough to blend. I checked for doneness long before the stated time, and removed as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I made this the first time two weeks ago but tweaked it a little. I was looking for a chocolate pound cake so I adapted this receive. I used an additional 1/4 cup of cocoa, I sub. 1tble spoon of vanilla (instead of 2tsp-what can I say we like flavor enhanced.) I also used strong unsweetened tea (loose leaf brewed-black-too lazy to waste/make a cup of coffee just for the cake) to the mix to bring out the cocoa. I added a ganoche adapted drizzle to the top using 1 tble spoon of sugar, milk, butter and chocolate chips. This was a "Chopped"/Paula Dean inspired experiment. (PS I only use real butter in stead of the chemical rich sub). Results-family loved it. I was gone in two days. My teen recently passed up the offer of one of those really rich chocolate cakes at the bakery while shopping yesterday, opting instead to ask me to make this again. I almost fell over there in the store (she is a very finicky eater). We loved it but adapted. I imagine the base recipe is very good that is what I worked off of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Either I messed up or this was just terrible - followed advice and only used 3 cups of flour - still DRY DRY DRY !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States