Marble Squares II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
more cake like than brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Sullivan, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
A family favorite for years! Yes, these are definitely more cake like than your traditional brownies (that's why they're not called brownies), and no, I don't think they're super chocolaty, but they are still chocolate. I was surprised by other reviewers that said the sour cream made the dessert "tangy". I've never thought that these were tangy. Similar to another reviewer, I always add an egg to the cream cheese mixture, and we also melt 1.5 oz of unsweetened baking chocolate squares instead of the cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This recipe, although a lot more time consuming then some other dessert recipes is my absolute favorite. My mother in law has been making them for years. These are not brownies, to call them that is a complete misrepresentation of their greatness. You really need to let the eggs, butter and cream cheese come to room temp. for the best results in this recipe. Everyone who has ever eaten one (that I know personally) has loved them! I'd give it more then 5* if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greenowl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I'm rating my mom's version 5 stars. It differs in three ways: you use 1 1/2 oz unsweetened chocolate squares, which is then melted with the margarine and water. Secondly, you combine all the dry ingredients before you put in the chocolate, sour cream, etc. Finally (and most importantly), you add an egg to the cream cheese mixture, which makes it much thinner and easier to marble the squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
I have to say that I was very disappointed. These are not brownies...it is a cake. The flavor was good, but if I wanted a cake I would have made a cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpena, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
Brownies are my curse, I can never get them right. This recipe sounded interesting but didn't quite work either. I wouldn’t discard it though, because I think with some modifications it can be very tasty. Next time I will double the cream cheese mixture and use at least twice the amount of cocoa powder called for, as they were not chocolaty at all. I also added a bit of coffee liqueur and think it gave them a very nice flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TequilaGirl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I wasn't super impressed with these brownies. I thought they weren't chocolatey enough for our tastes. Don't get me wrong, they were good, but for us, i don't think i'll be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SolitaryFairy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
This was GREAT!! You MUST use an electric mixer for this recipe. You need to take the time to beat the creamcheese and sugar until it is smooth. Makes all the difference. It creates mushy,gooey spaces in the brownies. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
Who was daring enough to rate this recipe 1*? It surely is quite tangy, but what would you expect in a recipe containing sour cream and cream cheese. These bars are super moist, not that rich, and ready in no time. Make sure though that your cream cheese is at room temperature; you might want to microwave it for about 20-30 sec.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
Super moist and the spots of chocolate with cream cheese are so yummy! Make sure you get the cream cheese soft enough, I put mine in the microwave for a little bit before I mixed it with the sugar and it mixed with the chocolate so easy! Next time I might add some nuts to it! Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States