Marble Squares I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
My mom discovered this recipe when I was in my pre-teens. I loved baking it and we all loved eating it! Kids really like to "swirl" the chocolate chips. It's fast and easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
Quick and a snap to make. I got rave reviews for these at a birthday party and by everyone who comes over after I've made them. Add more chocolate chips and they disappear even faster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I needed a quick, delicious dessert/snack for a party and stumbled upon this recipe, and oh my goodness it is amazing. It was a huge hit at the party and since then everytime I need to make something I always make this and it is always a smash. They are so good and people are constanly complimenting me or asking how to make them. I give out this recipe all the time and best of all its very easy. Hope everyone enjoys this recipe as much as everyone I make it for does. Well off to my husbands softball game where I made two batches to give to the players and fans. Enjoy, I always do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
My mother made this recipe when I was younger. Its wonderful! The only thing I would like to comment is that you need to wait 10 minutes before you swirl the choc chips. Then cook for another 10-15 minutes for the marble effect to look right. 3 minutes is not long enough.. that's why some people commented that it didn't swirl correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hellbound 17 1/2
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I thought this recipe turned out pretty good. The bars were a hit with my friends. :) On suggestion from the other reviewers, I used less (only 1/2 cup) of butter. This resulted in a less "bubbly" or "squishy" bar. Unlike other reviewers, I thought 3 minutes was plenty of time for the chocolate chips to melt. My advice is to check on them at 3 minutes. Poke a chip with a butter knife. If it's soft, it should marbleize just fine. If not, give it a little more time - not too much, or the bars will set. Also, I decided to sprinkle a 1/2 cup pecans over the bars after 10 minutes of baking because I like pecans in chocolate chip cookies. Finally, I lightly covered the pan with foil during the last three minutes of cook time because I noticed that the surface of the bars was cooking faster than the center. The bars turned out great. As you can see in the picture I posted, they look pretty too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
Although this recipe didn't turn out the way I expected, it was delicious. After 3 minutes, the chips were not melted enough to swirl so the cookies didn't look marbelized. But it was just enough to make the cookies taste very rich. I'd call them 'blondies' and I plan to make them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
This turned out great. The marbled effect is very pretty and you'd never know it came from a swirl of choclate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
these are really good the swirl came out great and my family ate all of it in one day my mom had to hide some for her so that she was able to eat some when she was at work i am going to make some more pretty soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
These were delicious. I was a little concerned when I pulled them out of the oven because the center was really jiggly, but once they cooled down they were the texture I expected. They were very easy to make (I did wait 10 minutes before swirling the chips in like the other reviewer advised) and my kids loved them (okay, I did too!). Just make sure you have plenty of milk in the house...they're really rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Mezzetti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I have rediscovered this recipe, SOOO yummy. I used to make these when I was a kid, so this is a delicious memory of cooking for my brothers, now my family loves them, too. I use more chocolate chips- probably 1 3/4 cups- for a fudgy cookie. Also bake for 10 min. before attempting to marble them. I underbake them slightly for a soft, fudgy cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Millersburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States