Marble Squares I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
My mother made this recipe when I was younger. Its wonderful! The only thing I would like to comment is that you need to wait 10 minutes before you swirl the choc chips. Then cook for another 10-15 minutes for the marble effect to look right. 3 minutes is not long enough.. that's why some people commented that it didn't swirl correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I don't know WHAT happened with this recipe - I followed it exactly, and just wound up with a mushy, bubbly mess. I let it bake for as long as I could without burning it, but it was like there was way to much butter (I actually used 1 cup of margarine). Perhaps if I had cut it back to 1/2 cup, or even added an extra cup of flour, it would have turned out. Very disappointing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
Quick and a snap to make. I got rave reviews for these at a birthday party and by everyone who comes over after I've made them. Add more chocolate chips and they disappear even faster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hellbound 17 1/2
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I thought this recipe turned out pretty good. The bars were a hit with my friends. :) On suggestion from the other reviewers, I used less (only 1/2 cup) of butter. This resulted in a less "bubbly" or "squishy" bar. Unlike other reviewers, I thought 3 minutes was plenty of time for the chocolate chips to melt. My advice is to check on them at 3 minutes. Poke a chip with a butter knife. If it's soft, it should marbleize just fine. If not, give it a little more time - not too much, or the bars will set. Also, I decided to sprinkle a 1/2 cup pecans over the bars after 10 minutes of baking because I like pecans in chocolate chip cookies. Finally, I lightly covered the pan with foil during the last three minutes of cook time because I noticed that the surface of the bars was cooking faster than the center. The bars turned out great. As you can see in the picture I posted, they look pretty too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
good recipe and super easy. Sent a pan of this off with the hubby to a Green Bay Packer party..and the pan c ame back empty...said everyone liked them. I liked how easy this was to make with ingredients I keep handy anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pecbot Brown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Just as I remembered making 30 years ago! Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
Although this recipe didn't turn out the way I expected, it was delicious. After 3 minutes, the chips were not melted enough to swirl so the cookies didn't look marbelized. But it was just enough to make the cookies taste very rich. I'd call them 'blondies' and I plan to make them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
My mom discovered this recipe when I was in my pre-teens. I loved baking it and we all loved eating it! Kids really like to "swirl" the chocolate chips. It's fast and easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetToothTiff
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetToothTiff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winsted, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Uhrichsville, Ohio, USA
Photo by Jules
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I feel there may be an error in this recipe, in the amount of butter that it calls for. I too followed the recipe perfectly and my result was also very squishy and mushy. I had to double the baking time to get it to firm up a bit. As someone suggested, I baked it 10 minutes and then swirled the chocolate chips. Took me a minute or two to master the "swirling technique" but I got okay in the end. Very tasty recipe, but I may suggest reducing the butter some. I also added about half a cup more chips than it called for. Made it extra chocolatey :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leyden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States