Marble Squares I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by SweetToothTiff
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetToothTiff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winsted, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Uhrichsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I altered this recipe a bit for health purposes. I used Bob's Red Mill Whole Wheat Pastry Flour, lessened the white sugar to 2/3 cup and added 1 tsp of baking powder. I also waited 6 minutes to swirl the chips. They were a hit at our Superbowl 2009 dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
These are fantastic! I've had it saved to my recipe box forever, and just realized that I never comment on it. I've made them at least 5 or 6 times and they are always perfect. They don't last long around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watson, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Roland, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
These were good, but not great. I thought they were WAY too brown-sugary - the dough was almost caramelized. I also had a lot of trouble getting the chocolate chips to melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hellbound 17 1/2
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I thought this recipe turned out pretty good. The bars were a hit with my friends. :) On suggestion from the other reviewers, I used less (only 1/2 cup) of butter. This resulted in a less "bubbly" or "squishy" bar. Unlike other reviewers, I thought 3 minutes was plenty of time for the chocolate chips to melt. My advice is to check on them at 3 minutes. Poke a chip with a butter knife. If it's soft, it should marbleize just fine. If not, give it a little more time - not too much, or the bars will set. Also, I decided to sprinkle a 1/2 cup pecans over the bars after 10 minutes of baking because I like pecans in chocolate chip cookies. Finally, I lightly covered the pan with foil during the last three minutes of cook time because I noticed that the surface of the bars was cooking faster than the center. The bars turned out great. As you can see in the picture I posted, they look pretty too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I was not impressed with these. Ten minutes was too long for me to wait to swirl the chips because it was already setting. I found these rather dry. I'm giving them three stars though because maybe I did something wrong along the way. The taste itself wasn't bad--they were just a little too dry for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I have rediscovered this recipe, SOOO yummy. I used to make these when I was a kid, so this is a delicious memory of cooking for my brothers, now my family loves them, too. I use more chocolate chips- probably 1 3/4 cups- for a fudgy cookie. Also bake for 10 min. before attempting to marble them. I underbake them slightly for a soft, fudgy cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Millersburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
very easy to make, cook 10 mins before adding chips, maybe i might have added more chips!! my hubby loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIRSTENLIV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: High Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
These were delicious. I was a little concerned when I pulled them out of the oven because the center was really jiggly, but once they cooled down they were the texture I expected. They were very easy to make (I did wait 10 minutes before swirling the chips in like the other reviewer advised) and my kids loved them (okay, I did too!). Just make sure you have plenty of milk in the house...they're really rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Mezzetti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States