Marble Chiffon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Samia Asaad
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Amazing recipe. Thank you Sharon. Cake turned out very good and the family loved it. I made a slight addition to this recipe by adding 1 tsp vanilla essence. Secondly, since I could not find cream of tartar so I added 2 drops of lemon juice instead which turned out to be a good substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samia Asaad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Flavor was oddly eggy (tasted like Chinese egg custard) & cake fell even though it was baked long enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This cake takes some time to make but it is worth it! I have made marble cake before but always came out a bit dry, chiffon cake is always light and fluffy so this mixture is great. The flavor is amazing and my family is now calling this a favorite! I wil def. be making this again. Just a tip you do not need that much baking powder, I actually had to substitute using baking soda and cream of tarter and I only put about 2 teaspoons ( 1 tablespoon= 2 teaspoons) and it came out PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Montana
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Delish! I tweaked a little making this a "orange/chocolate marble chiffon cake". I subbed orange juice for water & made a chocolate glaze. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Moist, flavorful. easy. It is in my keeper file. I waivered from 4 stars to 5 stars since it isn't "THE BEST" ever, but I wouldn't hesitate to make it for any guest or occasion and it seems no fail so it gets 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I made this cake for a dinner party and it was well received because it wasn't too sweet and the glaze was a nice complement to the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I made this cake for my friend's mom & it got rave reviews! The orange zest gave it a wonderful taste. I did add 2 tbs vanilla & used unsalted butter instead of oil. There were no leftovers. I didn't use the glaze; I frosted with buttercream frosting & it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Super Mom Barraza

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
This is a good recipe....a little tip for those looking for a more intense chocolate flavor, try frosting it with a fluffy, mousse-like chocolate frosting. And to the others that complained of the lack of butter, chiffon cakes MUST be made with oil, otherwise it wouldn't be a chiffon cake. Try a layer cake recipe if you are looking for a butter cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This cake tasted great.Was soft and had great texture.Inspite of using just oil and the absence of butter/vanilla the flavor was right on.Reminded me of the lovely marble cake from my hometown.The only change I made was to use a little over 1/3rd cup semi-sweet choclate chips(melted in microwave and mixed with 2 tbs oil) instead of cocoa. This did not affect the taste at all and saved me time. But next time I will definitely add more to make it more chocolatey.I did not add the orange zest or glaze.Instead I used the chocolate hard glaze from this site.Mmmm...Even though this recipe deserves 5 stars I gave it only 4 'coz I had difficulty getting it out of the pan.Make sure to grease your pan just to be safe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I bake cakes professionally and the problem with this recipe is: a vanilla cake that has no butter in it, has no taste. I cannot believe this recipe also had NO vanilla flavoring in it, which also contributed to the lack of taste. I made this recipe as is the first time...It had great volume, but no flavor, and there was not enough chocolate to add any flavor either. If I make it again I will substitute the oil for butter, and add a Tablespoon of vanilla. A great cake should have terrific flavor Before you add the icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States