Marble Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
great recipe...was baking for the first time and the marble cake turned out nice and soft...thnx...it has inspired me 2 bake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athulya Antony

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I made this cake twice. One as is and one with improvements. Im giving three stars for the recipe as is. It was kind of bland, and a little oddly dense. I had people eat it and say it was amazing. Improvements I made were increasing butter to 3/4 cup, increasing sugar to 1 1/2 cups, increasing vanilla to 2 teaspoons, adding 1 teaspoon almond extract and seperating the eggs whites and folding them in at the end. Also, I dont believe 3/4 cup is enough batter to use for the chocolate, i used around twice that amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This recipe was okay… I used it to make cupcakes instead of cake as an experiment. It tasted really good, but was SO DRY!!! I would suggest doubling the recipe to have a larger batch of cupcakes. The batch I made turned out to be 10 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Really liked this recipe. Took advise and added more sugar and oil. I also sifted the flour, baking powder and salt. I alternately added the flour and milk as the final step. A very moist cake and was a hit for my husband's birthday. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Easy to make and very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This is the driest heaviest cake I have ever made. Not trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue LeBlanc Primm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA
Living In: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Not sure what happened but it was a little thick for my liking. Otherwise it was pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I was very disapointed in how this cake came out. My husband's loves Marble cake. For his birthday I thought I could make one from scratch. I looked everywhere online and found this recipe. I figured it would come out good but instead it was very heavy and thick tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This cake is amazing! I made no changes to this recipe but I did mix it properly. You just can't dump everything in and bake. I beat the butter first,then add the sugar,then eggs 1at a time. The flour,salt,and baking powder are mixed together and added alternately with the milk beginning and ending with the flour. If this process is followed you will end up with a moist flavorful cake. I have added chocolate syrup and less unsweetend coco powder to make it more milk chocolate flavor. I always double this recipe to make a 2 layer cake and it always rises beatifully! I've made this 4-5 times in the last month and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I normally go for easy recipes, requiring less work. This is a perfect marble cake which can be prepared fuss-free. The amount of sweetness is just nice. My family loves it. This recipe's a definate keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States