Marble Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This cake was just what I wanted.Reading the other reviews beforehand(too dense) I simply reversed the order in which i mixed the ingredients. First I mixed the sugar and butter until fluffy,then added the eggs 1by1, then having put all the dry ingredients together beforehand I added a little at a time alternating with the milk. Lastly, I added the vanilla. It turned out very light and fluffy and tasty too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
270 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Excellent and easy cake! I made this for a co-worker's baby shower cake and brought sample cake made from this recipe and from a very traditional marble cake recipe to the office for them to pick their favorite. This recipe was the unanimous favorite. I made changes as suggested by the other reviewers: added 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup melted shortening to the batter; I also mixed the cocoa with 1 Tablespoon melted shortening prior to mixing into the batter. I also was careful to not overbake the cake. It was moist and full of flavor, absolutely delicious! No cracking of the top, either, and it rose high and light. This is the easiest "from-scratch" cake I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Antioch, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I was very disapointed in how this cake came out. My husband's favorite cake is Marble so I thought I could make one from scratch. Instead of the cake mix kind. I looked everywhere online and found that different sights had this same recipe. I figured it would come out good but instead it was very heavy and thick tasting and thats even with the 3 TBSP of Oil I added. Will constinue to look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This was my first EVER cake made from scratch, it turned out BEAUTIFUL! Since I was using a standard 9x13 cake pan I increased the recipe by half. For example, I used 3 cups of flour, 3 teaspoons baking powder, etc. The only thing I did differently was that I took other users advice and used additional 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup oil. Plus I added 1/2 a package of instant vanilla pudding and 1/2 cup extra milk. The cake evenly filled the pan to about 3 1/2 inches high baked and is EXCEPTIONALLY moist and flavorful. This is from now on going to be our family's standard birthday cake. Thanks for the GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seggen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
I made this for my husband because he loves marble cake, his grandmother makes it for him all the time and she is from Germany so it is always good. My husband said that it didn't taste like marble cake. The cake just doesn't taste like marble cake and it is pretty dry, not moist at all and I even added some oil. I am very disappointed in this recipe, I will not use it again and I will have to keep looking for a good marble cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Great recipe, but I would mix butter with sugar,oil, eggs and vanilla first. Then add the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
This is an amazing cake. I doubled it for two 9” layers, adding 25% more sugar and 50% more butter (salted), as other reviewers suggested. With three sticks of butter and all of four eggs, it was practically torte! Light, crumbly and heavy all at the same time. Add to that the butter cream icing and… well, they loved it. Even so, I would say it's flavor was pretty mellow due to all the eggs and butter. I think you could fix this cake’s flavor problem, as noted by other reviewers, by doubling the salt. My best yellow cake recipe calls for lots of eggs and butter, as well, but about double the salt. A little extra vanilla or higher quality vanilla will round out the flavor, as well. Next time, I will use salted butter again, just not so much of it, and double the salt, add a little extra vanilla and no extra sugar. Oh, and one more thing—I am a purist about presoaking baking flour before cooking with it (or using sprout flour), so for this recipe, I mixed the flour, milk and salt in the evening around 7 p.m. and let it sit at room temperature overnight. The next morning, I mixed the remaining ingredients in a separate bowl, added the flour mixture to it, and baked it in two insulated 9” round pans for about 45 minutes. Worked out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Perfect excellent best cake I ever had I don't know what those other people are talking about It's not flat and it's sweet enough for me they must of made it wrong bacause I loved it infact I'm going to make it for my birthday with whipped cream. Like i said It's the Best Cake Ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
The recipe states 1 8 inch layer cake. That is a single layer. The recipe actully made 2 8 inch layer cakes. It cracked TERRIBLY on top. Tasted blan. Hardly a cake taste at all. I am SO glad that I made this cake 2 days before my son's birthday because I would've been embarrased to serve this cake at his party. NOW to go find a cake recipe for his birthday party.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Flannel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This recipe was so easy and delicious, my husband and his family enjoyed a LOT!! I didn't follow the directions though, I beat the eggs and butter first and put the flour, baking soda, salt and sugar in another bowl. When I had the egg and butter mix ready I added the flour mix and the milk little by little and added 3 teaspoons of oil, at the end put the vanilla. I follow after with the cocoa powder and mixed with the reserved batter. I totally recommended! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States