Marble Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I decided to make this cake as miniature bundt cupcakes, and thought it was much improved by adding a cream cheese glaze (made like a basic cake glaze, except with cream cheese & sour cream replacing some of the milk). I also crushed some chocolate-covered malted milk balls and sprinkled them on top of the glazed cakes. Also, I used cake flour, scaled back on it to add a little more sugar and halved the recipe. Deeeelicious :)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
It was way too dense to be a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladwin, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
As other reviews suggested, I added an additional 1/4 C sugar (and thought it could still use a bit more), and also added the melted shortening along with the butter, however I did not add the additional shortening to the cocoa mixture like others suggested - I wish I had. The cake was pretty dry, very heavy and mild in flavor. It required too many additions to give it a higher rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I love to bake and I am sorry to say that this had to be the worst cake I have ever made. It was very dense and tasted more like cornbread than cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I tried this cake once and it was too dense. I tried it a second time following the suggestion of another user and still got not so great reviews from my guests.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I made this for my boyfriend's birthday - he loved it! I think it was his favorite birthday cake of all time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I read the reviews before making this cake and was hesitant. Some reviews were very positive and some were bad. Having tried the cake I would say this is the worst cake I have ever tried. It was completely flavorless. You might as well eat cardboard. I would say skip this recipe altogether and keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This recipe was so easy and delicious, my husband and his family enjoyed a LOT!! I didn't follow the directions though, I beat the eggs and butter first and put the flour, baking soda, salt and sugar in another bowl. When I had the egg and butter mix ready I added the flour mix and the milk little by little and added 3 teaspoons of oil, at the end put the vanilla. I follow after with the cocoa powder and mixed with the reserved batter. I totally recommended! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
TOTALY DELICIOUS!!! Made it for a friend's birthday party and everybody LOVED it. Thank-you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alondra Solá

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
As written I am sorry to give this a low rating and normally do not rate a cake under 4. In this case the ingredients are fine but it is the method that produces a heavy dense cake. Suggest that the butter (not anything else) is beaten together with sugar until very, very light and cream. Beat in eggs, one at a time and then blend in dry ingredients alternately with milk. Hope this works for others too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States