Marble Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
11 out of 10. Better than store bought. This was the most idiot proof recipe I've every tried. I've baked before and my bf loves cake so i googled a recipe and based on the photo I chose this one. The instructions were not the best but its pretty straight forward. It was just me my ingredients and a manual whisk- started off with binding unsalted butter and less than a cup of sugar until it was smooth and soft (bout 5 minutes of constant turning), then milk, extract, salt, baking powder, eggs. I added the flour in four parts, then cadbury coca that i added some more sugar to because it was a little bitter and baked for 35 minutes in a sealed oven on the top shelf. I say sealed because based on the comments people were saying it was dry or wasn't great but let me just say now i was shocked with the results, it was moist, it was better than store bought. This is my second cake- the first was store bought and it was so sweet but this was just perfect, the texture and taste was sooooo amazing. This was last night and just 1/4 remain because my bf had half last night while it was still hot, and my sisters want me to bake two for my niece's birthday. Oh and one more thing- the cake shirnk as it cools so u can actually turn it upside down five minutes after and it fell out of the pan with the butter and flour base in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I tried this spectacular recipe and it was so easy to make! It's taste, so perfect. I decided to make this out of boredom and honestly I glad I did!My dad is a baker and he said it was very well done. Instead of cocoa powder I decided to use up some nutella I had stored away. I think it does the job. I recommend this to anyone who enjoys a cup of tea or coffee with some delicious cake after a long day at work. Did I mention it was my first ever cake to bake by myself? I was so surprised and so happy. Thank you ? ? I will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole7125

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
i can`t wait till i get out of school for i can make this wonderful cake mhmhm this my fav to ayyyy turn up.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Too dense, dry and bland. We will continue to look for a good marble cake recipe .. this just wasn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHS387

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
There is absolutely no taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefMina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Bethpage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This cake turned out terrible, like sweet bread like jiffy corn muffins from a box. I was trying to give it 1 star but it wouldn't allow me to! It was really dense like a brownie in a not so good way. It wasn't very sweet at all either. I creamed the butter and sugar first added eggs one at a time and added flour and milk alternating and added vanilla. I have never had a cake turn or this way before. Perfect corn muffins for chili, if that's what your going for. Minus the corn meal of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Disclaimer - I used a milk substitute (Rice Dream) which may have affected my version. I found the white part of the cake too heavy. When tasting the batter, I was not thrilled, so I added chocolate chunks (Scharfen-Berger semisweet) one ounce to the chocolate layer. The chocolate part tastes good. I wonder if more egg and/or more baking powder would help with the white cake. I have just tasted it fresh out of the oven. It may change a bit as it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I give this a 2 stars because of reviewes regarding it being too dense and having to alter instructions as many suggested by creaming sugar and butter FIRST then adding eggs one at a time. I took this reccomendations and also added yogurt as someone else suggested to help make it more moist. I also added a table spoon of canola oil to ensure its moisture since I was making it for a Baby shower. It was an ok cake. NOt the best but not so bad either. Im glad I read the reviewes and made changes to recipe otherwise I think I would have been very disapointed had it not been for alterations. I was also wondering if anyone measured the cups in this recipe. Since it says its for an 8 inch cake its supposed to be 6cups. Unless I measured wrong I only got 4 and 1/3cups? I had to make extra as I needed the exact amount. Also anyone have a better recipe they dont mine sharing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This cake was delicious! All the other marble cake recipes I tried always came out crumbly and dry. But this one was perfect! Not too moist and not too dry. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Yes I made it. So good , wonderful, my kids like it so much, thanks a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States