Maraschino Cherry Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I can say anything but good good good! As a baker I usually test receipes out first to see how good they are. I knew as soon as I read this receipe, it was going to be something wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Really good, really big cake! I added slivered almonds to the cake and cherry juice to the frosting to thin it out a bit. Instead of icing the sides, I let the frosting run over the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This cake turned out very dry with very little flavor. I would not recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Like another, I cheated and used a boxed pound cake mix. Could not find butternut extract so I substituted 1 ts of vanilla and 1 ts of almond extract. This was absolutely delicious! Would make the original recipe if I needed a large number of servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homosassa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This was a really good cake. Like other reviewers noted, it's a really big cake. I made 2/3 the batter, put it in two 9x5 bread pans, and cooked it for 70 minutes. I didn't frost it and it was still really good.... I'd love to try the frosting next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Absolutely large, dense beautiful pound cake. I, also used butter flavored shortening. Other adjustments included increasing cherries to 1 1/4 c., substituting 1 1/2 t. vanilla and 1 t. almond extract in place of butternut extract. Since I wanted to display this cake I did not make the frosting. Will definately make again, although frosting would certainly be yummy it truly is not necessary. Watch cooking time, outside was tiny bit dry but everyone raved about taste, beauty and size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
i give 5 star. It's really yummy & easy. Only make 1/3 from the recipe & put in medium cup, yields 24 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belle1624

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This cake turned out excellent, moist, dense and yes it was a large cake so I took some to work and everyone loved it. I used Watkins doublem strength vanilla for the flavoring. Oh, and to the member who said it tasted like shortening and flour.... honey use butter flavored shortening, anyone who bakes much knows that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I was not impressed, this cake tasted like flour and shortening with cherry pieces. I love the idea of using maraschino cherries in a cake but this was disappointing. Probably will not make again, it is a big cake most of which was wasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
I baked this cake earlier this week. I decided to bring some to work and share it with my co-workers, they loved it, everyone that had a piece loved it - great recipe, especially for those who love cherries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States