Maple Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I read most of the reviews and altered my recipe a little, it turned it really good. I used 2c white wheat flour and 1c bread flour and added 5 tbsp of maple syrup. The extra syrup made it taste like a sweet wheat bread, but not like maple. I also added about 2 tbsp of vital wheat gluten, it made the bread lite and fluffy. I also baked it in the oven instead of the bread machine. I will definitely try this loaf again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
My son was recently diagnose with a sugar allergy, so now I've had to make my own bread, and this recipe is a HIT with everyone! I used 2 cups wholewheat bread flour, and 1 cup white bread flour. Nice and soft bread, including the crust. I agree with other cooks, that you can't taste the maple syrup, but it will be my bread recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hardisty, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This bread is very good...no changes necessary....and although you can't taste maple syrup, the flavour is nicer than a honey loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Mine kept over rising. I had to punch it down three times. I'd rather that then falling though. It was good but I don't know missing something. I'll make again but tinker with the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This bread came out really good. I didn't change anything on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
A good basic wheat bread. There really wasn't much of a maple flavor and I'd rather use something cheaper (sugar, agave, honey, whatever) to sweeten the bread since there wasn't that strong flavor I was hoping for. Otherwise it was a good bread. Nice texture. It seems like this bread would be easy to modify with seeds or whatever you'd like to add. The only change I made was I used 3c of whole wheat flour and omitted the bread flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bekkah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by litgirl24
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This was my first time making bread in my new bread machine, and this recipe was a fantastic way to begin. Following reviewer, vo0do0's suggestion, I used 1/2 cup quick oats, 3/4 cup apple cider and 1/2 c water instead of 1 1/4 cups water; and, following reviewer, BrittBliss's suggestion, I used 1 cup of Bread Flour (to increase height), and 1- 1/2 cups Whole Wheat flour. I also used 6 Tablespoons of high grade Maple Syrup, and added 1/4 cup of ground flax seeds. The bread has a slightly crunchy and definitely chewy crust and is wonderfully soft and fluffy inside! Perfect for sandwiches, or toasted or even alone! I ate it toasted with an egg on top. Excellent - eggcellent ;) -! The apple cider made it sweeter, and added flavor so it's a savory sweet bread -- but not too sweet. Though, I imagine it'd be great for French Toast. It's an awesome recipe. Thank you, Envision, and other reviewers! :) Update: I've made this bread 6 times now, and everyone who eats it, loves it! It's a staple now. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by litgirl24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This has become our new basic homemade bread. I vary the amount of maple syrup based on the grade of syrup I currently have on hand. It is very easy to cut into sandwhich sized slices and my husband loves it for his breakfast sandwhich before work. I mix it in the bread machine and bake it in the oven as other reviewers have suggested, most breads fall in my bread machine if I bake them in it, so it is pretty standard for me to use it just for mixing anyway. The recipe is so simple I memorized it after just a few times of baking it so I can easily make it a couple of times a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I have to say it was good, even up here at 8,888 feet! All I did was increase the salt to 1 tsp. which inhibits the yeast a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crested Butte, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Good but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brielle, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States