Maple Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
ok do what you need with the ingredients, but then throw in a nice big Guiness Cream Stout! you will LOVE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by landy boyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moab, Utah, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Really liked this recipe. Love the maple flavor and it is super moist. Actually really like with peanut and jelly. Simply and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Wooster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This is great! Tried it for the first time and came out perfect. It was tasty and the texture was softer than other whole wheat breads I’ve tried. I used the exact proportion of whole wheat flour and bread flour as in the recipe. However I put in 1tsp salt, 5 Tablespoons of pure maple syrup and 1 ¼ cups milk instead of water. Put it in my bread machine under the dough cycle. When dough was ready I kneaded it just for a few minutes and allowed the dough to rise for about an hour. Baked it @ 350 deg for 35mins. It smelled so good and tasted even better. Cutting the bread was easy too as the loaf held quite well eventhough it was still warm from the oven as hubby and I couldn’t wait to try it. We were impressed. Will definitely keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
While this may not be to everyone's taste, we love it. It's a delightfully soft bread, but not a problem to slice if your bread knife is up to the job. I increased the salt to a half teaspoonful (only 100mg a slice! Great for those of us who have to watch our salt intake) and as I hate cup measures, 320 grams of wholemeal flour seems to work perfectly. I also substitute a quarter cup of bread flour with wheat gluten to help the texture. (Small measures of volume are not so critical). This recipe certainly disproves those who say bread won't rise well unless half the flour is white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This bread was very YUMMY! Set it in the bread machine timer to cook while we were out working all day and came home to this great smell, but it int he refrigerator overnight and cut it up the next day. Making it again today. Not too sweet, just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Xavius

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I didn't have an awesome experience with this recipe. I added the extra salt and maple but realized that increased my ratio of liquids and the dough was very sloppy. I added flour until my dough became a soft ball but the amount of dough was too much for my bread machine. I split the dough and finished the second one in then oven after a couple rises. THey both came out although a bit misshapen. The taste was ok, nothing to be excited about. I'll keep looking for a recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Coker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
This is the best wheat bread recipe I've made in my bread maker. The only change I made was increasing the bread flour to 1 cup and decreasing the wheat flour to 2 cups. It makes a less dense bread which is what I wanted for sandwiches and toasting. Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
My whole family loves this bread. I make it in the machine from start to finish. I use only 100% whole wheat, and I add 1Tbsp. vital wheat gluten to the recipe. It bakes up light every time. I'm not sure why some folks are having trouble with density. Baking it in the oven rather than the machine might help with that, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Risch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I made this last night in my bread machine. I have a White-Westinghouse that is about 12 years old. It is a beautiful, tasty loaf of wheat bread that turned out perfect. Thanks! I plan to add flax seed in my next one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This was okay.. the bread rose beautifully, but the flavor just wasn't really there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States