Maple Walnut Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Great scone recipe! I toasted the walnuts at 350 for ten minutes. I didn't have maple extract so I used 2 Tbsp. of pure maple syrup. I added 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon to the dry ingredients. I always freeze my butter and grate it into the flour mixture - it makes things a little easier. These came out very nice. They really don't even need the glaze, but I did one anyway: 1/2 c. confectioners' sugar, 2 Tbsp. of real maple syrup, and 1/2 tsp. of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Just to comment and this might help. The scones should not be crumbly. This is why I do not grate the butter. If you put the dough together with some of the butter in small pieces (not all), the butter will melt in baking and create a moist scone. One other thin, if you have the dough out longer than ezpected, put in the refrigerator again. That way the butter isn't all melted when you go to bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Amazing recipe! I used two tablespoons of maple syrup in the scone recipe, and they turned out wonderful. I think next time, I'll just mix the powdered sugar and some maple syrup together for the icing. As it is, it was nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBOITX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookie Diva
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This is the first time I've made scones and now I'm hooked! I didn't have any maple extract so I used 2 T. of maple syrup. I also used maple syrup in the glaze. I patted the dough out to about 1" and cut out heart-shaped scones. This recipe made 16 scones. Delicious and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canoga Park, California, USA
Living In: Encino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I've made these twice. The first time I used whole milk and pecans instead of walnuts, and they were great. The second time I used almond milk instead of half and half, and substituted 1/3 the sugar with erithritol. No one could tell any difference, they were just as great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
These sound delish! Love Maple and Walnut and Scones. Can't wait to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Delicious! My husband and I love these. (The kids don't like nuts so didn't try them) The first time I made them, the walnuts looked and smelled burnt but I used most of them anyway. Great flavor! The second time, I baked them less time and the nut flavor was not as bold or noticeable. I did use real maple syrup as someone suggested instead of the extract. It make the drizzle frosting very sweet but very good on the scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
These have to be the best baked scones I've ever had, though I admit to substituting hazelnut flavoring for maple since I was out of maple. The texture of the dough is perfect for forming and cutting, and the final result is a moist, delicious, non-crumbly scone. My new favorite weekend breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
These taste great! I was unsure to give it 5 or 4 stars, it was very dry and crumby, BUT I'm not real knowlagable on scones; maybe scones are supposed to be crumby. these ARE TASTY! just serve with something wet; a cream or sauce, they'll be impressed. great with coffee. I took the advice of another reviewer with the frozen grated butter. Also, I don't like walnuts, so I used a cup of chopped fuji apple- YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiGGoNZo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
These are just plain good. Made as written but made another half recipe of the glaze as I wanted them with a tiny bit more frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States