Maple Walnut Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This pie is definitely better than your regular, run-of-the-mill pumpkin pies. It was pretty easy for a novice cook. I used 1-1/2 Tbsp maple syrup instead of maple flavoring. I needed to bake it for 5 minutes longer to make sure the middle was cooked. I forgot the cinnamon in the pie mixture, not noticeable. I totally did not understand what "cut in the butter" meant. It still tasted great, but it looked funny. My mother-in-law said to use a pastry cutter, and she will show me how. It was still yummy and I will be making it for Thanksgiving next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
First pie I ever baked and it was a total hit for Thanksgiving. No one believed I hadn't ever baked a pie before, and it was super easy to make. I am not great in the kitchen and even I could manage this. Just use care when putting on the crust part, as it will go everywhere if you do t evenly disperse it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I LOVED this pie! It is wonderful, and just different enough to set it off! The only reason I gave it four instead of five is I followed advice of others and doubled the topping. If I hadn't done that, it wouldn't have been enough! Love it and thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Recipe in a Recipe. I realized I didn't have condensed milk so I opted for evaporated milk and added 3/4 of brown sugar. Pie turned out amazing. However I had about 1 cup of pie filling that didn't fit into the pie shell. So since I was 9am I added 2 cups of pancake mix and 3/4 cup of water and made the best tasting pumpkin pancakes my bf and I have ever had!! Moist, not overly sweet very good. Hope you can benefit from my little experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made this pie for Thankgiving & it was a big hit. I only changed one thing, I had no walnuts so I crumbled some of the extra pie crusts I had, onto pea size balls & tossed them into the topping I did take the advice of others & heated the pumpkin & spices before putting it into the crust. We were 6 adults for dinner & there none left tge next morning. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Awesome pumpkin pie. Whole family loved it. We used fresh pumpkin in a 1/1 substuitue and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
have made this pie a few times now, just as described (used a regular pie crust). It is always a wonderful hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
My nephew texted me this morning and asked me to make him pumpkin pie. I have never made pie before but I couldn't say no. I immediately searched here and found this recipe and had to try it. Just by tasting the batter before putting it in the oven, I loved it. I bought the mini graham cracker pie crusts for a cute display and to make less of a mess to serve it. Plus individual portions. Can't wait to see if my nephew likes it tonight. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Santos

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I'd give this recipe 10 stars if I could! I won't even eat plain pumpkin pie anymore...this is more of a mousse-like consistency and I like that a lot better than just a gelatinous slab of pumpkin in a crust. The topping puts it over the top! I'm asked to bring this to every Thanksgiving now. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This is very good. I used pecans instead of walnuts, because it's what I had on hand. Definitely a recipe that I will make and share with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States