Maple Walnut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This was pretty yummy! Based on other reviews, I reduced the brown sugar to 1/4 cup, and I did NOT heat up the sugar and maple syrup. Just melted butter in the bowl, then added all other ingredients. I threw in a handful of chocolate chips too, which didn't hurt at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This was the second pie I have ever made and it it was AWESOME! My friends were blown away by it. It is very similar to a pecan pie. My 4 starts are only because I didn't have maple flavoured extract and instead used vanilla....and I will keep it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Point Edward, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I was looking for a pie to make with ingredients I had on hand and I found this. I brought it to the family Christmas and it was gone before any other dessert! many requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobo's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Utica, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was incredibly easy and fun to make. I had never made a pie before and i am 14 years of age! I mad emy own dough from scratch and then poured the filling in this pie is sweet and tasty. As others have said the only thing i changed was substituing the maple extract for vannilla it was just as good dfinatly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookies!

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I made this pie today. I did use the suggestion that instead of Maple extract to use vanilla. Plus I used chopped walnuts instead of walnut halves (cheaper). It is FANTASTIC!!! My husband said do not lose that recipe and that he wants me to make it once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allan47885

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Very good but I wonder if it is really necessary to heat the syrup/butter mixture first? I almost ended up with with scrambled eggs untill I waited for the syrup mixture to cool. I think next time I will just melt the butter on its own and proceed as with pecan pie; no need to heat the sugar mix. Also, since I am fortunate to have access to real maple syrup, I didn't use the artificial flavoring, cut back brown sugar to 1/3 cup and still this was too sweet; I will eliminate the brown sugar altogether next time- but there will definately BE a next time- YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I have made this a couple of times. I used 1 Tbs bread flour and 1 Tbs wheat flour. The second time I used AP as the recipe states. I also used walnut pieces instead of halves. This is very good. I make the crust using a recipe from this site. The crust I like best is in the "Danish Apple Pie Bars II" recipe. Just make sure to refrigerate the dough before rolling it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Good, but not great. All you can taste is the crazy ridiculous amount of maple syrup. Easy and fast, but ultimately forgettable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This is a great recipe! I altered it slightly to turn it "low-free"! I replaced the brown sugar with brown sugar Splenda, and used a sugar-free pancake syrup for the maple syrup. It really tastes similar to pecan pie to me. (Similar in texture, too) All it needs on top is a dallop of whipped cream and it tastes like perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
DAT loved it and ate 2 pieces the first night. Refrigerate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States