Maple Walnut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Very good pie! Like others suggested, I used vanilla instead of maple extract. And make sure you don't use a sweetened crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bekkah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by trailqueen
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Pecan pie has always been my favorite. This rates right up there! I cut back slightly on the brown sugar and added a cup of coconut. I also chopped the walnuts and turned the oven down a bit half way through baking. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Very good but I wonder if it is really necessary to heat the syrup/butter mixture first? I almost ended up with with scrambled eggs untill I waited for the syrup mixture to cool. I think next time I will just melt the butter on its own and proceed as with pecan pie; no need to heat the sugar mix. Also, since I am fortunate to have access to real maple syrup, I didn't use the artificial flavoring, cut back brown sugar to 1/3 cup and still this was too sweet; I will eliminate the brown sugar altogether next time- but there will definately BE a next time- YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This is a great recipe! I altered it slightly to turn it "low-free"! I replaced the brown sugar with brown sugar Splenda, and used a sugar-free pancake syrup for the maple syrup. It really tastes similar to pecan pie to me. (Similar in texture, too) All it needs on top is a dallop of whipped cream and it tastes like perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tina T
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
EVERYONE tried it liked it a lot! Really great recipe, though I used vanilla extract instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
This pie is excellent! I added more walnuts then it called for and it turned out perfect. My family absolutely loved it and my grandma wants to get the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I have made this a couple of times. I used 1 Tbs bread flour and 1 Tbs wheat flour. The second time I used AP as the recipe states. I also used walnut pieces instead of halves. This is very good. I make the crust using a recipe from this site. The crust I like best is in the "Danish Apple Pie Bars II" recipe. Just make sure to refrigerate the dough before rolling it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This pie is delicious and very easy to make. I found it to be a little too sweet with the added maple extract, so instead I substituted vanilla extract. I've taken this pie to several family events and it is always a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Good, but not great. All you can taste is the crazy ridiculous amount of maple syrup. Easy and fast, but ultimately forgettable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I was looking for a pie to make with ingredients I had on hand and I found this. I brought it to the family Christmas and it was gone before any other dessert! many requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobo's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Utica, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States