Maple Walnut Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This was pretty yummy! Based on other reviews, I reduced the brown sugar to 1/4 cup, and I did NOT heat up the sugar and maple syrup. Just melted butter in the bowl, then added all other ingredients. I threw in a handful of chocolate chips too, which didn't hurt at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This was the second pie I have ever made and it it was AWESOME! My friends were blown away by it. It is very similar to a pecan pie. My 4 starts are only because I didn't have maple flavoured extract and instead used vanilla....and I will keep it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Point Edward, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I was looking for a pie to make with ingredients I had on hand and I found this. I brought it to the family Christmas and it was gone before any other dessert! many requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobo's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Utica, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was incredibly easy and fun to make. I had never made a pie before and i am 14 years of age! I mad emy own dough from scratch and then poured the filling in this pie is sweet and tasty. As others have said the only thing i changed was substituing the maple extract for vannilla it was just as good dfinatly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookies!

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I made this pie today. I did use the suggestion that instead of Maple extract to use vanilla. Plus I used chopped walnuts instead of walnut halves (cheaper). It is FANTASTIC!!! My husband said do not lose that recipe and that he wants me to make it once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allan47885

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Very good but I wonder if it is really necessary to heat the syrup/butter mixture first? I almost ended up with with scrambled eggs untill I waited for the syrup mixture to cool. I think next time I will just melt the butter on its own and proceed as with pecan pie; no need to heat the sugar mix. Also, since I am fortunate to have access to real maple syrup, I didn't use the artificial flavoring, cut back brown sugar to 1/3 cup and still this was too sweet; I will eliminate the brown sugar altogether next time- but there will definately BE a next time- YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I have made this a couple of times. I used 1 Tbs bread flour and 1 Tbs wheat flour. The second time I used AP as the recipe states. I also used walnut pieces instead of halves. This is very good. I make the crust using a recipe from this site. The crust I like best is in the "Danish Apple Pie Bars II" recipe. Just make sure to refrigerate the dough before rolling it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Good, but not great. All you can taste is the crazy ridiculous amount of maple syrup. Easy and fast, but ultimately forgettable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This is a great recipe! I altered it slightly to turn it "low-free"! I replaced the brown sugar with brown sugar Splenda, and used a sugar-free pancake syrup for the maple syrup. It really tastes similar to pecan pie to me. (Similar in texture, too) All it needs on top is a dallop of whipped cream and it tastes like perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
DAT loved it and ate 2 pieces the first night. Refrigerate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States