Maple Walnut Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Very good recipe; My mom says "Don't change a thing!" But I have some suggestions on making it even better. This was my first attempt at fudge, and it was so easy--a real plus for that reason. But I didn't think it was as tasty as it could have been. When I made it a second time, I used half granular sugar and half brown sugar (3/4 cup of each). Also used 2 t. maple extract, instead of 1 1/2 t. This simple variation made for more of a maple taste and less of a white chocolate taste. Also a couple hints for those who are having trouble with it not forming up the way it should: (1) I found that it had to boil longer than 5 minutes. I boiled it 8 or 9 minutes, stirring constantly. You want it to reach to "soft ball" stage. You don't need a candy thermometer. Just drop a bit of the boiling mixture from a spoon into a glass of cold water. If it forms into small rould balls at the bottom of the glass, you're all set. If not, boil it a minute longer and try again. (2) Get the marshmallows, white chocolate, extract, and nuts all measured out and ready to go so you can dump it in quickly and begin stirring right away as soon as you remove the boiling mixture from the heat. Stir as vigorously as posssible, but if it starts to become too difficult to stir or starts to become granular, return it to the burner (which will still be warm) while stirring. It will soften right back up and become smooth and satiny. Don't leave it on the heat for more than 30 seconds at a time, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Flavor was nice, but I'd use more maple extract next time. Instead of garnishing the fudge with walnut halves, I doubled the chopped walnuts inside the fudge. And unless you like your fudge wafer thin, use an 8x8 pan. I trusted the recipe (unfortunately) and poured the fudge into a 13x9 pan. I realized the fudge was incredibly thin (I'm used to SQUARES of fudge, not WAFERS of fudge!!!) so I quickly removed the foil & fudge from the 13x9 pan and smushed it into an 8x8 (not an easy task since the fudge was cooling and thickening.) Wish the recipe had stated an 8x8 pan - it sure would have made for a more pleasant experience. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because who wants fudge wafers?? I've never seen flat fudge in fudge shops!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
This recipe was delicious and so easy to make. I'm not even the biggest maple flavor fan but I can't stop eating the stuff! I suggest a 8x8 or 9x9 pan unless you want very thin fudge. I also use a bit more maple flavoring than suggested or you will taste the white chocolate. Someone mentioned foil getting stuck to the fudge - if you cut it with the foil underneath this will happen. I pulled the entire fudge out and peeled the foil off in a sheet, before cutting the peices. I then stored the pieces with wax paper in between in the refridgerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Season Gardner Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
Delicious fudge. Perfect consistency (but you have to give it time in the refrigerator, so PATIENCE!!)I added more maple extract, about 3 teaspoons. I also mixed in all of the nuts. I lined an 8x8 pan with parchment paper which works better than foil in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Great fudge! I ran out of maple extract, so I ended up subbing vanilla extract for the rest. This produced a lovely, white-chocolate fudge with a slight maple flavor, which is what I wanted anyway. If you want your fudge to have a rich, white-chocolate taste, you must use white chocolate chips, not "white chips" (or morsels). White chips are usually just hydrogenated oil and sugar (yuck!), with no trace of white chocolate at all. Look for "cocoa butter" in the ingredient list to make sure you are using white chocolate. I used Trader Joe's white choco chips. I think I may leave out the maple altogether next time and just use vanilla, to make a pure white chocolate fudge. I love this! The recipe is easy to use too. I got everything ready before I started cooking; put foil in the pan, measured out marshmallows, white choco chips, and nuts. I opted not to place walnuts on top, but just used extra chopped ones in it. A good compliment to chocolate fudge around the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
Great recipe and very easy to do. The only thing I suggest is to melt the chips and marshmallows in a double-boiler BEFORE adding it into the sugar mixture. I ended up with random little white morsels that didn't melt--an added bonus for some! One of the best batches of fudge I've ever made! Thanks!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
This is probably the best fudge I've made to date. It comes out very smooth and not too sweet. Its perfect. I omitted the walnuts, and it's still incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabetha Hall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
This was the creamiest fudge I've ever made! I used a 9 by 9 inch pan and added extra chopped walnuts rather than using the walnut halves. It was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
This is absolutely scrumptuous....the best I have ever made myself. Everyone who tastes it asks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
Maple Walnut Fudge is one of my favorites in fudge recipes this was a good quick and easy fudge to make. My family enjoyed it. I found it on the bag of white chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Leandro, California, USA
Living In: Pittsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States