Maple Walnut Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
This is the first fudge that worked for me. I made a few changes. I used butterscoth chips and tsp. maple extract. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Beausoleil First Nation, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
This fudge came out perfect! The texture was not too soft and not too hard at all! Next time, I think I will add a little more maple extract than what the recipe called for though. Maybe 2 teaspoons or so. I could taste a lot of white chocolate from the chips still, so I think more maple would be better. This was a great recipe and I for sure will be using it again next year. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Flavor was nice, but I'd use more maple extract next time. Instead of garnishing the fudge with walnut halves, I doubled the chopped walnuts inside the fudge. And unless you like your fudge wafer thin, use an 8x8 pan. I trusted the recipe (unfortunately) and poured the fudge into a 13x9 pan. I realized the fudge was incredibly thin (I'm used to SQUARES of fudge, not WAFERS of fudge!!!) so I quickly removed the foil & fudge from the 13x9 pan and smushed it into an 8x8 (not an easy task since the fudge was cooling and thickening.) Wish the recipe had stated an 8x8 pan - it sure would have made for a more pleasant experience. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because who wants fudge wafers?? I've never seen flat fudge in fudge shops!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
I've made this fudge a couple of times and it always turns out. By the suggestion of other members, I used butterscotch morsels and extra maple extract. Yum. The only problem with this recipe is that everyone seems to eat way more then they wanted to! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Welland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
My family loved this recipe! I used half white chips & half butterscotch chips. I also used pecans since I was out of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANNELYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Very easy, extremely delicious fudge! Literally melts in your mouth. I got a lot more than 50 pieces - it's so rich a small piece is enough (if you can resist more!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
If you want superb maple taste, use Mapleine® flavoring. I bought some other brand, and it was so watered down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEWVERYTALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Very good recipe; My mom says "Don't change a thing!" But I have some suggestions on making it even better. This was my first attempt at fudge, and it was so easy--a real plus for that reason. But I didn't think it was as tasty as it could have been. When I made it a second time, I used half granular sugar and half brown sugar (3/4 cup of each). Also used 2 t. maple extract, instead of 1 1/2 t. This simple variation made for more of a maple taste and less of a white chocolate taste. Also a couple hints for those who are having trouble with it not forming up the way it should: (1) I found that it had to boil longer than 5 minutes. I boiled it 8 or 9 minutes, stirring constantly. You want it to reach to "soft ball" stage. You don't need a candy thermometer. Just drop a bit of the boiling mixture from a spoon into a glass of cold water. If it forms into small rould balls at the bottom of the glass, you're all set. If not, boil it a minute longer and try again. (2) Get the marshmallows, white chocolate, extract, and nuts all measured out and ready to go so you can dump it in quickly and begin stirring right away as soon as you remove the boiling mixture from the heat. Stir as vigorously as posssible, but if it starts to become too difficult to stir or starts to become granular, return it to the burner (which will still be warm) while stirring. It will soften right back up and become smooth and satiny. Don't leave it on the heat for more than 30 seconds at a time, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Can't begin to tell you how pleased I am with this fudge. It is wonderful! When you line the pan with foil, spay it lightly with butter flavored Pam and it will peel off much easier. How this recipe is made, the squares will be somewhat thin. I think next time I will use a smaller pan so the pieces will be more cube-shaped once they're cut. This is a *very* sweet fudge and a little goes a *long* way -- but, it is absolutely divine! FYI, I'm a novice at making fudge, this is only my second attempt and it came out great. It even passed the picky mother-in-law test which is really saying something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Great fudge! I ran out of maple extract, so I ended up subbing vanilla extract for the rest. This produced a lovely, white-chocolate fudge with a slight maple flavor, which is what I wanted anyway. If you want your fudge to have a rich, white-chocolate taste, you must use white chocolate chips, not "white chips" (or morsels). White chips are usually just hydrogenated oil and sugar (yuck!), with no trace of white chocolate at all. Look for "cocoa butter" in the ingredient list to make sure you are using white chocolate. I used Trader Joe's white choco chips. I think I may leave out the maple altogether next time and just use vanilla, to make a pure white chocolate fudge. I love this! The recipe is easy to use too. I got everything ready before I started cooking; put foil in the pan, measured out marshmallows, white choco chips, and nuts. I opted not to place walnuts on top, but just used extra chopped ones in it. A good compliment to chocolate fudge around the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States