Maple-Vanilla Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
If GodivaGirl didn't suggest Almond extract, I would've kept on rollin' by this recipe. (Never have maple flavoring, but I ALWAYS have Almond) and I also tossed in a shake of cinnamon. Although very runny, it's good. But, VERY VERY Sweet. Use just enough to soak into the pancake. **UPDATE** Made it again, cutting the sugar by 1/2 cup and using the Maple flavoring. Worth the trip to the store for the Maple Flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
GREAT! I cut this in half and this was enough to fill just over half of a plastic syrup bottle. Way better than the store bought by a mile and super easy. I did add 1 tsp of butter extract along with the 1 tsp. of maple extract and 1 tsp. of vanilla. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I cut this recipe down to 6 servings and used pure almond extract (didn't have maple). This syrup is very sweet and more amber colored and not at all like store bought. I used this with the Whole Wheat Pancake recipe from this site. It did add flavor but I was thought it was too thin. Guess I'm partial to the Absolute Best Syrup recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
What did I do wrong? I've made this twice following the recipe and I keep making candy! When the syrup is hot and warm, no problems. But as it cools, sugar crystals form. Please help as the flavor is great but the consistency is terrible after it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I made this recipe and added a shot of brandy! Awesome! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
So easy and tasty! I liked it better than storebought. I was a little worried because I had no corn syrup or maple flavoring, but it worked fine without and still tasted great! Can't wait to try it again with all of the ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARLIEFLOWER21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This syrup turned out perfectly -- I think it is better than store bought. Made about 3 cups that I keep in a container in my fridge. Next time, I'd like to try adding another extract (maybe even some rum)! It's also delicious on vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This is just right! It wasn't too thinned out like other recipes. It makes enough the first time that I don't have to make it every time we need syrup! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I have always purchased syrup until now. This was a quick and easy recipe and it tasted great! It got rave reviews from my picky husband. Will definately make from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Absolutely the best!! We've made this multiple times in the last few months...and always get rave reviews from the kids! Very simple to make, and a lot more affordable & yummy than store bought!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Simple Syrup

A must-have sweetener. It’s not called “simple” for nothing.

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States