Maple-Vanilla Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I have made a variation of this for several years. First, the boiling time is too long- it only needs a minute or two. That's why people are ending up with candy. Also, using all white sugar and adding a tablespoon or so of molasses is the same concept but gives a deeper flavor. I also add butter flavoring to mine sometimes. My family likes it better than any store-bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I have made this syrup for decades. Delicious! A husband and four sons have eaten many pancakes topped with this syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This recipe is what I grew up with. I rarely buy syrup. My mom's recipe didn't include corn syrup. I usually make it with maple and vanilla, however I have altered it in the past, including putting blueberries or strawberries in the the boiled mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This recipe is our FAVORITE. Super easy to make and thickens up real nice in the fridge. Play around with different extracts. We have added butter extract, almond, and the maple it calls for. I also use real vanilla. Wish I could give it 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
k so I to tweeked this. listening to the advice of others I was able to solve the too-runny problem I cut this recipe down to apotion of 6 (just me & my honey) I used half cup each of water corn syrup & brown sugar. then just 2 tlbs of white sugar followed by a tlb of margarine as it was cooling 1/2 teasoop of vanilla 1/4 teaspoon of almond this was excellent . honey did not even realize I created this my self
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I used this as my base idea for my whiskey syrup. With the hooch in place of the water, then a pinch of baking soda to keep it from crystalizing. I also used almond extract instead of maple flavor. Delicious! Tastes great and excellent consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Made this for our french toast fingers this morning. I don't usually use syrup, but this is too good not to. I followed the recipe, but only 1/2. Wasn't sure if everyone would like it, so I wasn't up for using 4 cups of sugar all at once. It thickened up very nicely in the fridge, but tastes best warm. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This is indeed awsome!!! I can't wait to serve this at my Christmas breakfast buffet. It is terribly runny though, anybody have any ideas on how to thicken it up some???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I halved the white sugar,and water amount,and didn't add corn syrup[my oppinion of a nasty ingredient],I also didn't have brown sugar,so I omitted it.since I didn't have brown sugar,I "browned“ the white sugar in pan a few minutes,then added water,and at that moment,the sugar hardened and looked like rocks. But after it simmered 8 min, I took off the heat,and added flavorings. Let it cool a bit,and poured into a glass jar. Its really sweet,but yummy and natural tasting! I know my boys will love it on their pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maria r s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I made this recipe and added a shot of brandy! Awesome! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Syrup

A must-have sweetener. It’s not called “simple” for nothing.

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States