Maple Twists Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
This was delicious, but it took a lot of preparation. The wait was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
These turned kind of dry, but they were still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
Was looking for something quick with no time for cinnamon rolls waiting for yeast to rise and this was it. Had no walnuts on hand so only used the regular pancake syrup on hand mixed with some melted butter with the brown sugar. Still turned out excellent with rave reviews from the family. Thanks for the great recipe, have added it to my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
I took these to a Thanksgiving breakfast and they were devoured, I will have to make them again so I can have more than one. I did everything but bake them the night before and they were still great, I was afraid they wouldn't do well sitting in the refrigerator all night but they were wonderful. Use real maple syrup, I doubt the faux-maple flavored syrups would be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
Nice treat Eleanor, and fairly easy to put together. Best if eaten the same day baked. The next day were'nt quite as good. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
This was NOT fool proof. My dough was too sticky and fell apart when i went to twist it. Cream cheese went everywhere. In the end I just threw it all in the pan thinking at least it would taste good. It crumbled apart after I baked it and tasted too sugary sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
I think the amount of milk needed may need to be adjusted depending on what type of baking mix you are using. Next time I think I will add bit by bit until the dough is moist. Other than that, the taste is good and the recipe is easy to follow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This is a really creative recipe! I like the idea of it, but I didn't love the end result. It definitely had that distinctive baking mix flavor for me. My husband didn't taste that, but he thought they were too sweet. So, neither of us particulary loved this. The only change I made was to use sliced almonds instead of the walnuts. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
These were good but they really spread so they were sticking to each other but I was still able to cut them apart. My husband really loved them. My co-worker called them Excellent and said it's good with coffee and another one asked for the recipe. My kids liked it without nuts but the nuts really did add more flavor to it. Use it if you have it. I just wish the nuts stuck to them but maybe I should chop the nuts a little finer or something. I did flip them over right away but you have to pick up the nuts and get them back on before it hardens. My daughter brought these to school and we were hoping she'd take home the leftovers but she didn't bring any home. They are fragile, if the length is too long they will break in half because of the twists. The cream cheese mixture tastes just like the frosting my mom uses on her carrot cake. Yummy. It is really sweet because of the maple syrup on the bottom but the maple syrup makes the bottom crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
These were easy to make and turned out good. I didn't dump them upside down on a plate immediately after taking them out of the oven, so had a little trouble getting them out of the pan. The syrup/brown sugar mixture was too sweet for me, so may try skipping that next time, and just topping with a little powdered sugar after baking. Still a great, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Maple Pumpkin Donuts

Oven baked pumpkin doughnuts with maple glaze.

Parmesan Cheese Twists

These cheesy Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry strips are so easy to make!

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States