Maple Syrup Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Great recipe! The second time I made them, I used a muffin pan and added some bacon pieces. AWESOME breakfast muffins!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
"Very simple and easy," indeed. I gathered from glancing at some prior reviews that this was a pudding in the English sense (dessert) and not the American one (custard). But I didn't quite know what to expect. It turned out to be a simple, yet tasty kind of cake with a pronounced, but not too strong, maple flavor. I made it exactly as written, and it turned out fine. But in my case, I think the 45 minute baking time was a little too long, as it was fairly well browned. This is nothing fancy, but I liked it well enough for three nights' desserts. Worth a try, but I'm not sure I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
First off let me say this is a decent recipe. For a non-steamed pudding it was nice. Simple, relatively quick, easy and inexpensive to make. The 10 minute beating of the initial wet ingredients is, in my opinion, not necessary. 3-5 minutes fo this small amount is acceptable, as long as you have a good smooth blend. Also, if you do not have (real) maple syrup, the average maple flavoured table syrup that the vast majority of us have in the cupboard is fine, and can often be flavoured more strongly than real syrup. As to the complaints I read... I do not feel this is a good forum for complaints. If you had issues making the recipe, tips or tweaks to make it better then by all means, but the out and out complaints and bashing are in poor taste. Especially when wrong. Being an American living in Canada, I have a broader view than some. Try and remember, the net is not confined to the US. Therefore anything you see online has a very good likelihood of being from elsewhere. Pudding is the British verb used to generically describe dessert ("If you don't eat your meat, you can't have any pudding, hoe can you have any pudding if you don't eat your meat?!"). American style pudding did not become common until around the 1930's. "Traditional Pudding" would be a bread or cake like dish, more often than not sweet these days. So, if you are going to complain, please make sure you know what you are speaking of. Thanks for the recipe by the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Missouri, USA
Living In: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
This is not what you think of as traditional pudding but was still good. It is more cake-like. I thought it needed a little sauce so I used a Vanilla Sauce from this website on the top. I really liked the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHATMOMMA1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I am an experienced baker; and try as I might, this recipe did not give me anything beyond a light-textured cake and no sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This recipe was not what I was expecting, as far as a pudding goes. Not sure why the directions say to beat the butter mixture for 10 minutes. After 10 minutes, it was no different than if I beat it for 2 minutes. Overall, it did taste good. Not sure if I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeeKum

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I used corn syrup because maple syrup in Italy is very expensive and I use it only for pancakes! This cake is not properly a pudding, but it's more like a plum cake with a nice flavour of corn (or maple) syrup. Not too sweet, the next time I will add more sugar. I added a 1/3 cup of flour because it seemed too liquid. The corn syrup didn't sink to the bottom as written in the recipe. I prefer it cold and I think it's a good cake only for breakfast. Cooking time is ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Verona, Veneto , Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I made this as a steamed pudding in a basin/steamer instead of baking it in the oven. I also placed the Maple Syrup at the bottom of a greased and lined steamer and added the batter on top. Upturn the pudding and the syrup runs down the sides. In regard to it being "a pudding" to me this is what we Brits call puddings, and I guess other Commonwealth countries the same. SamanthaAust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
A very good pudding recipe. (Puddng as in bread pudding, figgy pudding, that kind of thing, not the custard we call pudding here in the states.) Add some nuts and this gets a five star rating. It's good to learn the tastes and foods of other countries. We in the states don't have to serve just what is familiar to us. Expand your horizons. Most cooks could look at this recipe and tell it is going to be bread or cake like before they make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
While delicious, it still turns out to be more of a cake than a pudding. No drippy maple syrup at the bottom. Delicious nonetheless. I think mixing in chopped walnuts would be good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States