Maple Syrup Casserole Made in Heaven Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
I added a few raisins between the layers of bread, and mixed some cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg to the egg-milk-syrup mixture ... This is soooooooooooooo Good! Thanks Dawn for a fabulous recipe, too bad the rating stars only go to 5, cause this one gets a 10 in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
I have had the pleasure of having this recipe for about a year. I used to make it only for brunches, but everyone loved it so much, I now make it and keep it in the fridge to be heated up in individual servings by anyone needing a quick breakfast. Much better than those toaster things and better for you. It is gone pretty quickly since they eat it after school, after work and for dessert. An all around favorite. I have put raisins in it and added nutmeg also apples cut in small pieces. The blueberry sounds good, I'll give that a try. Everyone loves this one, it is easy and good a real keeper. In reading some reviews that have had mushy results. I don't leave the bread whole, I cut it up into bite size pieces. The first time I made it, it was a little mushy, so I put it into the micro to firm it up. It came out fine, I found that if I cut up the bread, it got firm quicker, I don't like wet french toast either. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
This is an awsome recipe, I had something similar at a bed and breakfast in Amana Iowa. They also had a apple/maple surup to drizzle over it. I made this for my MOMS Club brunch and it got rave reveiws!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
I prepared this recipe last night and we ate it this morning. It really was delicious - the perfect brunch with a fresh cup of coffee. However, I made one change: I added only 1 cup of maple syrup. Adding more than that will make it cloyingly sweet. It still baked perfectly for 45 minutes at 375. The author did not state whether to cover it or not, I chose not to and it was just perfect - will definately make again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
I served this at Easter brunch and my family loved it! Everyone couldn’t wait to dig in, as it looked very pretty and impressive as I took it out of the oven. It puffed up and was nice and golden brown. I only used 1.5 cups of syrup (that's all I had) and it was plenty sweet, no one added any to their serving. I also choose not to spread the cream cheese as others had suggested and was glad…for one it made it easier to make and second I thought it made it look prettier. I also sprinkled cinnamon on each of the layers. I was worried that it would be soggy as others had complained but mine turned out more what I would call fluffy, not soggy. Also, as for the portions… recipe said it served 8 but with 5 adults and 2 kids we only ate a little less than half. Of course we had other items but I will only make half for the same number of people next time. I will definitely make this again and so will some of the guest I served it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
I wish we would have read the reviews before we made this recipe...I believe it would have turned out better if we would have spread the cream cheese on the french bread. This recipe was delicious. It tasted more like a dessert than a meal. It was very sweet. I will make it again, but I will be sure to have something else to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Good, but...in my opinion: too many eggs!! They overpowered the other flavors in many places. I'll make this again, but with 10 eggs, not 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
I too, wish I had read the reviews prior to preparing this dish for Easter brunch. It was very mushy in the middle, too crispy around the edges and bottom and had little flavor. No one in my family was thrilled with this one, in fact many good humored jokes were made at it's expense. Thankfully I halved the recipe, less to throw out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
This is good only right out of the oven and you must spread cream cheese on every slice and I also added apricot jam to every slice. This is somewhat like a bread pudding. You have to like the semi mushy texture in the middle due to the egg mixture and bread. We liked it right out of the oven, the next day we did not like it at all. This meal makes alot of casserole! Too much for a hearty family of five. So Sorry..... We as a family of 5 did not like this one at all. We vote recipies as a family to bump it or dump it and this one was unanimous to dump it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FERBONIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
I wasn't very impressed with this recipe. I didn't find it very flavourful at all, and I had even used flavoured cream cheese (cinnamon & brown sugar). My boyfriend didn't mind it, but he wasn't quite thrilled either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Forbidden Fruit Cocktail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Rupert, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States