Maple Syrup Casserole Made in Heaven Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
not great...I would look elsewhere for a breakfast casserole. Dry and nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larsky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Definitely a keeper for our family. I've made this recipe twice - the first time I followed the recipe precisely, the second time I added an extra 1/2 cup of syrup and served with syrup on the side. We enjoyed the second time much, much more. Also, the first time we used maple syrup as called for in the recipe - so expensive and not worth it. Regular breakfast syrup tastes significantly better and costs a lot less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I do have to admit, first off, that I'm basing this review on the reactions of others - I don't eat eggs because I just don't like the taste, so I don't eat french toast either. But, I made this for my annual Girlfriend's Holiday Brunch and it was raved over! I've passed this recipe on to others by popular demand...it's really easy to put together, too. Just a suggestion but, to get the best maple flavor, use grade-B syrup. It's somewhat less than the higher grades and has a deeper, richer flavor that's best for cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacki_In_Simi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arleta, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I gave this recipe 3 stars strictly for the idea. The idea is great, now someone just needs to get it to work! After reading the reviews I had to change this recipe so much to make it work I won't be making it again. I added cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves just to give it "some" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Macungie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
This had the consistency of a bread pudding...which I'm not a fan of. However, I had several people comment that they really liked it and one that wanted the recipe. SO, I guess it's a hit for some people, just not me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milford, Iowa, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Every year we have friends & their kids over for the weekend, and this has become our standard breakfast. It is SO good! Adults and kids just LOVE it! It does take a while to cook - but it is well worth the effort for me. I have been making it for years, and this year was thinking of adding a layer of fruit for a little twist. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillyZackMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ramsey, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
Absolutely delicious! It was so easy to make the night before and then just pop in the oven. So light and sweet and everyone loved it, even my hard-to-please grandmother. The leftovers were even better the next day. The only thing I would do differently is spread the cream cheese on the bread, even though the recipe says you don't have to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawcatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Dessert for breakfast! This was super yummy, but I learned a couple of extras. Break the bread into 1 inch pieces, add lots of fun spices like cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, and don't layer it too high. Mine was a little mushy in the middle, which didn't bother my friends, but I had to bake it quite a bit longer than instructed. Overall, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANC239

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
It was VERY bland and I had to cook it 20 minutes longer because it was not set after 45. My husband said this was the first thing I've made that he just could not eat. Doesn't taste like french toast at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This came out mushy like bread pudding. I wish I had read the reviews before I tried making it. I can't believe it is in my cookbook! It is nothing like french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States