Maple Syrup Casserole Made in Heaven Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
So, so good. I cut the recipe in half for my 8 inch square pan, and glad I had more than half a loaf of bread to use up (is it me, or are the loaves getting skinnier and smaller...). I did use grade B syrup from Trader Joe's, we did not find this recipe too sweet and I loved the cream cheese. I served with cranberry relish for a topping, it was a great combo :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Meh. This was pretty okay. It needed something. I'm not really sure what. I might make it again, but I would definitely not add the cream cheese. Even though I buttered it onto the bread, it still felt like I kept getting big bites of cream cheese. I think next time, I would omit the maple syrup, add a lot of brown sugar instead, and then chuck in some cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alanna Groen
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I cooked this for a brunch we were having and everyone left raving. It ended up taking twice as long to cook then the recipe said, but turned out great. Not for someone without a sweet tooth. Would cook this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Soggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
not so great for us--I liked it alright, but not a big hit with the fam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beth0428
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
BIG HIT !!!! I did add some rasins and a little cinnamon and nutmeg.Everyone had seconds (and some had thirds) .... and I could lay money my husband is back in the kitchen STILL walking by and taking a spoonfull here and there. THANK YOU for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth0428

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I thought this was pretty good - it was a little soggy - but maybe I didn't cook it long enough? I did add cinnamon for the flavour and I'm glad I did. I would also spread the cream cheese on the bread next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Very few recipes get five stars from me but this one deserves six! Very good as written, needs only to bake longer than 45 minutes. I did cover the dish with foil for 45 minutes then baked about another 30 minutes. I'm happy I didn't read the reviews or I would have missed out on a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Surprisingly delicious! Everyone loved it. Best part was being able to make it ahead. I'd make it next time in a deeper casserole dish so more of the bread soaked in the liquid. This time the bread exposed to the heat was crunchy, but that added texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScandoGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canajoharie, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
this worked for me. there are only 2 of us so i used a much smaller dish (scaled down the recipe) and because bread whole wouldn't fit well in the round dish i spread the cream cheese on the bread and cubed it. i used whole wheat bread. i always have cinnamon and vanilla in my french toast so i added that too. yes it is very moist, but it is wonderful. i cut the temp. down to 350 with the smaller dish, cooked it for 40 min. uncovered and let it sit for 5 min. would like to add blueberries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States