Maple Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Great recipe. I added a 1/4 tsp imitation maple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jojo Ho

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
The cookies where soaking in melted butter when they where in the oven. They tasted like butter and salt with a hint of maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Fantastic recipe, the family gobbled them up and they're so easy to make, definitely going to make these again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Simple and delicious! I used grade B maple syrup which is more nutritious and I put a pecan on top. Everyone liked them. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
These cookies are delicious. They are great "adult cookies" because they aren't too sweet, with just a light maple flavouring. They go very well with tea. My kids aren't too fond of them, because they aren't sweet enough for them, but us "grown-ups" love them. I do suggest that you at least double the amount of syrup it asks for, because I did that, and the maple was still quite faint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I thought these cookies were really good. I don't know what people are talking about being boring. they are a shortbread cookie they don't need to be too sweet. they were just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
followed the recipe exactly. perhaps that was the downfall. ended up with boring pancake cookies and the incredibly subtle maple flavor completely disappeared once the cookies were cooled. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYSMILEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
OK, so I'm testing out unique cookie recipes in preparation for the holidays, so first I halved this recipe. Then, I made a few changes as suggested by reviewers: a bit more flour, a bit more maple syrup, a bit less butter and a good bit of brown sugar to taste as I prepped the dough. I made the balls the size of large filberts rather than walnuts and this gave me a good dozen even with just a half recipe. Then, I put a sliced almond in the middle of each. I, too love maple flavor and I did use real maple syrup in these. Shortbread, on the other hand...meh. They took 7 and a half minutes to cook at this size. Hmmm, even with the additional brown sugar and maple syrup, not as mapley as I'd like. They are softer than shortbread, so that is nice. I'd make them again if I could find little mini maple chips to mix in. I think that would be a nice touch and add to the subtle maple buttery taste. This is a fun basic recipe to play around with-- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Good, a real crowd pleaser and super easy- we topped ours with crushed walnuts! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
So good and so simple! I wanted cookies but my ingredients were limited because we're moving. I happened to have real maple syrup and oat and rice flours. I even had to cream the syrup and butter by hand because I already packed my mixer but the cookies turned out! Because other reviewers said they weren't sweet enough, I put some white sugar on the first batch. The second batch I didn't and both were pleasantly sweet. I will definitely make these again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UALMEIDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Encinitas, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortbread Cookies II

These cookies will melt in your mouth. Make extra!

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States