Maple Sausage Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Pretty dry and somewhat bland in flavor. Needs some type of sauce and spices to make more stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
We have made these three ways. The first way, my mom mixed the raw sausage with the other ingredients before baking. These came out really greasy. When I made them next, I completely cooked the sausage before mixing. These were way too dry. The third time, I cooked the sausage a LITTLE to remove some of the grease before I mixed in the other ingredients. This way turned out the best, but were still a little dry. So, I guess I would leave some of the fat in the sausage. I kept them warm in a crockpot and served them with chili sauce at the last brunch I had. Most everyone liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
These were so easy to make and makes a great breakfast on the go. I added some maple syrup to mine to make them extra maple flavored. I will be making these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I made this recipe to take to a family bowling outing. I was looking for something easy to transport and that wouldn't be messy to eat. Per the recommendations of other reviewers, I fried the sausage first until almost done. Not much grease cooked off the sausage, maybe 1-2 T, so I everything (sausage and grease) to the other ingredients. I used buttermilk pancake mix and sharp cheddar. I mixed it well by hand. It does take some elbow grease! The results were good, but nothing exciting. I didn't receive rave reviews. If I make them in the future I will probably add some red pepper flakes to add a bit of zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I just made these and they were burnt on the bottom after only 10 minutes. After searching around I see that this is the only sausage ball recipe out there that has you cooking them at 450, nearly all the others have the oven temp at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
These were fantastic! A few tips: The sausage does NOT have to be browned before adding. Instead, just use a higher quality sausage (mine was fresh made from Whole Foods, but any quality brand like Bob Evans will do). Better sausage has lower fat and will not turn the end product greasy. Secondly, I made my own butter based baking mixed based on a reviewers suggestion, rather than using a boxed mix. Thirdly, I mixed everything in a Kitchenaid mixer, rather than by hand, and added just a TBL or two of maple syrup to boost the flavor. I also made the balls closer to meatball sized (about 1 and 1/2 inches) because I didn't feel like rolling out so many small ones. This didn't affect my baking time. Like many recipes, I think the success of this one depends entirely on the quality of the ingredients used. Don't go cheap and these will turn out wonderfully. Perfect to bring to a potluck breakfast for brunch, or great as something different to accompany soup for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
They would be a little dry if you cook the sausage first. If you have already cooked your sausage, you need to add some sort of fat into you mixture. These were really good! My family adored them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltkdvmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This was not good at all. Very dry and flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Just okay. My family ate them, but I'm not in a hurry to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I followed another reviewers advice and pre-cooked the sausage and drained it on a paper towels to cut down on the fat. I used Krusteaz pancake mix since that's what I had on hand and Dubliner Cheese. It's a great, sharp, white cheddar. Since I precooked the sausage I added one egg to help the balls hold together better...and I couldn't resist adding a Tbsp of real maple syrup. They also required less cooking time...about 10 min. These were a big hit with the family! I served them on the side of some home-made roasted tomato soup. It was the perfect snowy night meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah
Home Town: Repulse Bay, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States