Maple Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
Hi - this is Starflower and I submitted this recipe. Just wanted to let you know...you never marinate fish for more than 30 minutes! It is not like meat. Per professional chefs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mike Fiction
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
The recipe was pretty good as is. I would specify that cooking salmon is not as simple as placing in oven for x amount of time. You should cook salmon based on thickness. Bake uncovered in a preheated 450°F oven for 4-6 minutes for each .5 inch of thickness. As others have stated, you shouldn't marinade fish for any longer than 30 minutes. If you want the flavor to really soak in, marinade in tin foil to keep the marinade on the filet. Great recipe idea and some great alternative ideas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1069 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
oh my!!! this has got to be one of the yummiest things i've cooked lately! i used organic DARK maple syrup.. natural soy sauce (tamrari) and made it in tin foil.. placed in a glass pie plate... opened during last 5 min or so and broiled it.. also drained off sauce.. reduced it in a small saucepan.. added a tiny bit of cornstarch, whisked it and poured over salmon on warmed dinner plates. Made carrots baked in the oven with a bit of butter and cinnamon and a cranberry wild/brown rice pilaf. :) i'd say this is one my fav meals in a long time.. thank you soooo much. i didnt use garlic salt.. i used 2 cloves of garlic and added a bit of ground sea salt... and freshly ground pepper. :):) sooo good.. will make for company for sure! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1001 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
One of my favorites with this small variation. I bake in foil for 15 minutes and then break open the foil under the broiler for the last 4-5 minutes. This makes for a dryer crisper outer crust that our family likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
354 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
This is a great recipe with one change. Add fresh ginger... I use about a tablespoon, or a little more/less to taste. I also don't add garlic salt. The soy sauce is enough to add plenty of salty taste and sodium. To marinade this, I just place the glaze in a shallow dish and lay the salmon in it, skin up. This works perfectly. This is FABULOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
292 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VailValleyCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwards, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
I have made this once. My family REALLY liked it, especially me because it was easy. The only thing I did different was instead of using a shallow baking dish I placed the salmon on foil, poured on the sauce and wrapped it up so that there would be maximum sauce on salmon coverage. I let it sit for 30 minutes as recommended and baked for about 25 to 30 minutes. No leftovers to store, no clean up and great fish...5 stars. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
284 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
************ Mondo- beyond extra stars!!!! This is the best way to do salmon- EVER! In a restaurant or at home. YUM!!!!!!!!!!! I followed the recipe exactly- and added a tablespoon of horseradish. (I knew it would be too sweet for us- we're spicy people here!) This recipe is awesome and delish! I cooked my salmon for 20 minutes and took the foil off for the last 5, spooned some of the sauce over the top after it came out and it was PHENOMENAL!!!!!!! Rock my socks good! Thanks so much for this recipe! It is great! UPDATE- made this again with thicker cuts of salmon and had to cook longer - maybe 40 mins. The cooking time really seems to vary depending on the thickness of the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Even though my husband doesn't often enjoy "sweet" meat, he likes this one. I purchased frozen salmon and made up the marinade as the salmon was thawing. The changes I made: I don't like to use garlic salt so I decided to omit it. I used light maple syrup so I added a tablespoon of dark brown sugar (which oddly added a nice sweet hint of molasses). I minced up a two small cloves of garlic and added some extra garlic powder on top. I double layered a sheet of aluminum foil and set the mostly thawed pieces of salmon in with the mixture. I folded up the foil into a bag and set everything into a baking dish and turned the bag occationally while the salmon finished defrosting. While in the oven I flipped the bag over twice more and then at the end I opened the bag and broiled the top of the salmon for just about 3 minutes so the sugars could carmelize a little. *My filets were about 1 1/2 to 1 3/4 inches thick so I could beef up the flavor... maybe if yours are thinner you might add a little less, use your judgement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M.Blake

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wellsville, New York, USA
Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
So easy and great flavor! I omited the garlic salt and marinated overnight. The maple really gives the salmon a nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
Delicious!! Make sure you put some of the left over glaze on the fish when you serve it, it's very good. I will defnitley make this again...not to sweet, just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Maple Salmon

Make this delicious, easy salmon flavored with maple.

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States