Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I have made this a handful of times and it's always been a big hit. I do make a few adjustments though; first I pre-cook the bacon until it's about half done, I don't like mushy sprouts and that's what you get in order for the bacon to crisp up. Next I pour the bacon, any grease from the pre-cooking, the syrup, sprouts and s&p in a bowl and mix it all up, then I add just enough olive oil to coat usually only a couple of tablespoons is needed. I definitely line my baking sheet with foil because the syrup really gets sticky and I cook at 400 for only about 20 minutes. These small adjustments make it perfect every single time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummies

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
My brussels hating husband has requested these again and I did not even have bacon! Soak sprouts in salted water for 1/2 hour first. And line the pan with foil. Possible cut down on the oil too if bacon is fatty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Kindle Cheney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
We love brussel sprouts but I had some issues with this recipe. First of all the 40 minutes at 400 degrees is WAY to long. You end up burning the syrup. Next time I will half them and they should be done in about 15 minutes (the minimum time I think you need for the bacon to cook) I took mine out way before the 40 minutes and they where whole and they were cooked through to tender. I would also just put the olive oil to coat maybe several tablespoons 1/4 of a cup is a lot especially with the bacon rendering out fat. Make sure you line your pan with foil or you will need a jack knife to clean your pan. I would be willing to try this again with these modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Trimmed off bottoms and cut sprouts in half lengthwise. Tossed all ingredients together in bowl (loosely measured ingredients) to coat, then spread out in stoneware baking dish. Baked till sprouts were browned all over and tender, and bacon crisp. Teenage kids loved it. Not a drop leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
These are like candy! I added a couple of tablespoons of oil and a couple tablespoons of maple syrup with salt and pepper into a zipper bag. Boiled the Brussels sprouts in salted water for five minutes, cooled and then halved them. (That makes them more tender.) Tossed them in the bag with the oil, syrup, and seasonings to coat. Spread them out on a sheet lined with foil. I didn't add bacon. They took almost 45 minutes. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I've made this several times after eating something like it at a restaurant one night. A couple of variations are interesting. Tossing in either some chopped walnuts/pine nuts and/or craisins. Or good just the way it's written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryland mom
Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
First of all, I am a B sprout lover! 2nd, it was Way too hot in the kitchen to roast this so I nuked the whole thing and it was Very tasty! Can't wait to try this again when it cools down. Thank you for sharing Stefychefy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Amazing. I never had brussel sprouts before, heard to many horror stories of how bad they tasted. I knew I could find a good recipe here, and boy was i right. These were awesome. They are now a regular on my side dish rotation. The only change I made was that I used half olive oil and half Hazelnut oil. MMMMmmmmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie Hodawanus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I have made this several times. Great the way it is written and easy to change up. I now cook my bacon until it is halfway cooked and slice the brussels in half, just a preference for us, cuts the cooking time down. I use the fat from the bacon and some olive oil to just coat, but not 1/4 C. The bacon makes more fat while it continues to cook. I add garlic and walnuts. Thank you for sharing. BTW, my husband hated brussels...not anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Fantastic! I made this just as directed and it was loved by everyone; even those who after eating every last bit of their second or third helping, still insist that they do not like Brussels Sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States