Maple Roast Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This was my first holiday bird and it turned out GREAT!! I substituted orange zest for the lemon because I was afraid my traditionally-minded in-laws would freak. The resulting broth after roasting was so flavorful that I had a hard time not slurping it all before making a gravy. Again deferring to the in-laws, I used regular butter to make the gravy with the broth, reserving the maple/citrus/spice infused butter for dinner where we used it on our rolls. My family FLIPPED. The turkey was moist and flavorful, the gravy was delectable, and the butter and rolls were like dessert. I will make this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Brooks Ray

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
MMMMMMMMMMM. This turned out sooooooo delicious, I will now make it every year, may make it again for Christmas. I added alot more onions, celery and carrots to the pan then called for. Also added green onions, and reserved dome of the vegetables to stuff in the turkey. I sliced up the rest of my lemon and added it to the pan also and stuck a slice on the turkey. Next time I make it i will add the lemon zest to the butter mixture after I put aside some butter mixture for the gravy. The gravy turned out great, but would have been better without the lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Did Christmas one year, now I got it every year. The white meat is as moist as the dark meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Great recipe....my husband used this recipe to make his very first Thanksgiving turkey and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
LDMAC1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDMAC1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This recipe was delicious! I used it with the Turkey Brine recipe on this site. I brined the turkey over night. Then used this recipe to bake. The only thing that I did notice if brined. It cookes faster. You really have to watch the turkey if you cook at 500 degrees in the beginning. The butter browns fast... I set the gizzards etc. aside and made a seperate gravy with chicken stock because I'm not a big fan of sweet gravy. The turkey was soooo tender and juicy. It literally was the best turkey I've ever made. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
The turkey did come out wonderful. Very moist. I am changing my review to give this 4 stars,because of the turkey ONLY. But the gravy was very, very, sweet. I had 2 pkgs of McCormick turkey gravy on hand that I made and added to it, and still very sweet. So I added some white wine to it. That did take some of the sweetness away, but still left it very sweet. If I do make this turkey recipe again, which I probably will. I would not use the drippings for the gravy. I would use store bought or make some ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEESA2YOU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Good recipe - the gravy was a little too sweet for my family but other than that, don't expect too much of a maple-ish flavour although this makes the turkey very moist and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Great! This recipe is listed 3 times but is mostly the same except this one calls for more butter mixture and flour in the gravy. The turkey was moist and the gravy is slightly sweet. This was only my 2nd turkey and I received many compliments. Make this with the cranberry, sausage and apple stuffing and you can't go wrong- trust me! I don't think I would be a good cook without these recipes/this website! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
I scaled this recipe down for a brined turkey breast and made the maple butter as directed, using all of the mixture at once. Basted often and after 1.5 hours at 350, the turkey was perfect. I didn't make the gravy as stated; instead I took the easy route and just added the pan juices to a dry gravy mix. By doing so, the gravy wasn't too sweet, but a hint of maple could be detected and the fresh thyme was a nice change from the more traditional sage -- very good over mashed potatoes. Since this was a successful test run, I'll try this method on a larger gobble next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Lauren's Apple Cider Roast Turkey

Apple cider brined turkey, roasted to perfection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States