Maple Roast Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
Delicious recipe. Mine took a bit longer to reach the proper temperature, but was worth the wait. This is the second year in a row I have made this recipe with tasty results. The flavor of the butter really makes this recipe special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
Smelled so Good! Tasted so Good! The gravy is really good too! But this is exotic! It's not your cafeteria brown gravy, and some more traditional taste buds might object to the spices. But I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
Terrific!!! I've made this recipe for 3 years now - every Christmas! Everyone loves it and the gravy is delicious! I make extra Maple Butter as our family really loves a ton of gravy and we do like the extra maple flavor... I have used different herbs under the skin and whatever kind I use - it always turns out great. The turkey is moist - but I believe you really need to purchase a good turkey to start with - you get what you pay for! Try it - it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURLYREDHEADGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
Well, what can I say? 4 out of 4 of us eating this turkey didn't really care for it. We would've much preferred a "traditional" turkey. I think I followed the recipe exactly. It was okay, but definitely not great. Perhaps it was the flavour of the lemon that completely changed the taste of the turkey. While preparing it, I loved the aromas of the maple syrup, cider, marjoram, thyme. But in the final analysis - it failed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
This was very good. It made a wonderfully moist turkey, and people did comment on how tasty it was. I just don't think I was into the lemon flavour of the zest as much as everyone else. While I didn't have any complaints by any means, I don't know that I'll stick with this particular recipe. It went very nicely with the apple, sausage and cranberry stuffing from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
I just made this turkey today (Thanksgiving, 11/27/03) and it was so flavorful and delicious! I like to cook my turkey for a good long time to make sure that there's no danger of bacteria, and because I like a good brown bird. Usually, when you cook a turkey for a long time, the breast really gets dry - but not with this recipe! It was honestly the most tender turkey I have ever had. The maple compound butter was so unbelievably wonderful - not just to eat, but the aroma's from the fresh marjoram and fresh thyme makes you want to put a little behind your ear! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUNTTISH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
The best turkey we have ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
THIS IS HANDS DOWN, NO DOUBT ABOUT IT, THE ABSOLUTE BEST TURKEY I HAVE EVER HAD!!!!! I am usually not into the typical "Thanksgiving" turkey, but this recipe sounded tempting, so I gave it a try. Not only is it relatively simple to make, but the end result is phenomenal! This turkey is juicy, flavorful, and so addictive! You just can't stop eating it! I have never left a review of a recipe on this site before, but I just had to after making this recipe. Trust me, it is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
I've made this two years in a row to outstanding reviews. I also rub the outside with crushed coriander and it adds something extra special. The gravy made from the juices has such a nice sweetness. I actually used Williams Sonoma's starter and just added the drippings this year and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
I used this recipe this year for my first Thanksgiving dinner ever. As you can imagine, I was pretty nervous! The turkey turned out wonderfully. I do have a few pointers for any novices out there like me - definitely make the Maple herb butter the night before to make the next day that much easier, "marjoram" is a plant and I went to the grocery store and found it in the spices and used that (it worked great). Also, when you first place the turkey in the oven on 375 for 30 minutes, make sure to keep an eye on it. The baste cooked very quickly on top of the skin and burnt, I just wasn't paying attention. It didn't matter at all since you cut the skin off before you serve it anyway, but if you are concerned about presentation then keep an eye on it. I do HIGHLY recommend using the gravy recipe included, the flavor was incredible and tastes great on the leftover sandwiches as a spread!! The entire process was pretty simple and easy to follow, and the end result was that I may be doing Thanksgiving for everyone for the rest of my life!!! Thanks so much, Lipo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States