Maple Roast Turkey and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Very good recipe. I followed the recipe exactly. The turkey was very juicy and flavorful. The gravy has a sweet taste that I found very tasty and a nice change from traditional turkey gravy. I made the maple syrup butter the night before and it was very easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAAHN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
A great recipe, especially for a beginner. I felt very comfortable making it; however, I will try to use a turkey bag next time instead of the aluminum foil, that way I'll keep the moist inside the turkey. Thanks! Aurora Chula Vista, CA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This is an amazing recipe. I brined my turkey first then used the apple/maple/butter from this recipe to smother it in before putting in the oven. BTW, for those not living in USA apple cider is apple juice NOT apple cider vinegar! I didn't put veges in tray with turkey but did use the liquid at the end of cooking to make gravy - so delicious. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Prepared this recipe twice, the first time prepared as directed and the turkey browned too quickly. The second time I left the foil on the whole time and it browned beautifully. Both times the turkey and gravy tasted fantastic. Many comments on how juicy it was. I'll be using it again next Turkey time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I found this recipe Thanksgiving morning. It was easy and a big hit. My husband said it was one of the best turkeys he has ever had. Very moist and favorful. We used a fresh free range turkey. Yummy! We didn't even have that much leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Made this for Thanksgiving. It turned out very tender and lovely. I really didn't detect much of a maple flavor, but it just turned out very nice. I did brine the turkey the night before from a citrus brine recipe from this site... I know that makes a big difference in the juciness of the bird. I do recommend this and will likely do the same thing this Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I only made the gravy. It was a-lot of work and the apple cider really sweetened it up. Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This was wonderful!! I made the Awesome Sausage, Apple & Cranberry Stuffing with it as others suggested. This stuffing has an addicting flavor. The only thing I did different was to brine my turkey first with the recipe I've had for several years. Other than that, made no other changes. My father is 89 years of age and said it was the most amazing flavor he's ever tasted for Thanksgiving, and my husband and I agree!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This recipe was very good and will be used a staple foundation for our holiday turkeys. We used our Weber grill instead of an oven and cooked this 12 lb bird at indirect medium for just under 3 hours. We basted hourly and it turned out awesome. We will use this recipe for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
There wasn't enough left over to even make sandwiches the next day, LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States