Maple Roast Turkey and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
This is by far, the absolute best turkey recipe I have ever made! Everyone loved it for Thanksgiving! I used a little more maple syrup, but it didn't throw anything off. Gravy is to die for!!! The best I've ever had! I've never known a turkey to come out so juicy and perfect! Even stuffy friends who would've rathered "went out for Thanksgiving" (hey! we live in NYC, whadda ya want?) were thoroughly delighted and impressed! I highly suggest to anyone who plans on making a turkey for the holidays to make this! Bon Appeite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
It was great. And it was the first turkey I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
This made an excellent bird! It was my first turkey ever and I got rave reviews from my guests at Thanksgiving. In fact, from the traditional turkey roasters, I got compliments that this was their best turkey ever. Quite good! I was afraid it wouldn't turn out, but boy did it ever! The gravy was outstanding as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMoore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
This turkey turned out great. It was moist and the mixture you baste with is good. The only problem I had was with the veggies you put beside the turkey in the roaster--they dried out, as did the stock I put in with them. I had to throw it all out. Fortunately, I was able to use the rest of the marinade in my turkey gravy and it was the best gravy I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
I never received so many compliments!! Not only did this recipe produce the moistest turkey I've ever had, but the meat was so flavorful!! Be careful when making the syrup, I burned the first batch because I didn't watch it close enough. Also, use fresh herbs. It really makes a difference! Thanks for sharing Ibby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
I've made this twice and it is fabulous! The best gravy I've ever made and the turkey is very moist and delicious. Made some extra syrup and addd it to the stuffing-yummmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
Sooooooo good!!!! Made last Thanksgiving and will make again. Everything about this recipe is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
i try to do our thanksgiving turkey different every year and this year i chose this recipe coz i had previously tried it with chicken and it was great. i soaked the turkey in brine water overnight so i think that accounted for the very moist meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dettie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
I tried this recipe for christmas this year and it was wonderful. I have never had a turkey that was this moist in my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
Delicious recipe. Made this with an 18-pound turkey, and the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I really had to tend to it. You need to ensure that foil is used the entire time and/or the heat reduced for all periods and the time lengthened. The skin was VERY dark, but not burnt. The butter underneath has both pros and cons in that it gives it the potential to burn, but also keeps it tender. The breast meat was extremely juicy and tender. Gravy was great...I love sweeter gravies with maple and the like, so this was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Seidel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States