Maple Roast Turkey and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I took a chance and tried this for Thanksgiving, a gigantic leap for somebody like me who grew up with butter-only glaze. But I was so wonderfully rewarded with the most perfect turkey I’ve ever made. It’s sweet, but not too sweet, and it really melts in your mouth. And it beautifully roasts your turkey to a Hollywood Thanksgiving Turkey golden color that almost makes you feel guilty eating it. The gravy… Oh, so tasty. It goes great on the turkey, great on mashed potatoes, great sopped up with biscuits, pretty much a wonderful compliment to all of your Thanksgiving sides. And this makes the most unbelievable stock. Team this turkey with mixed bread sage sausage stuffing (find the sage sausage by Jimmy Dean), a shot of white wine, and you’ll amaze your family with the fantastic meal you’ve put together. Here are some basic tips for Thanksgiving turkey though… It seems that not everybody on this board has been introduced to the wonder that is Oven Bags. I promise you, this recipe in an Oven Roaster Bag, and you’ll think you’ve died and gone to heaven. It browns your turkey perfectly, and is much easier than foil. Cut up 2 onions and throw them in the bag, sprinkle about a tablespoon of flour in the bag and shake until the onions are well coated… Put in the turkey and this sauce. Cut some slits in the bag, throw it in the oven, and every 30 – 40 minutes, stick a baster in one of the slits and coat the turkey. Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
I agree with an earlier review... I've made this the past 4 years to rave reviews. It was the first turkey recipe I tried as a newlywed, and now my mother and grandmother request little old me to make the turkey at the holidays. What an honor, and all thanks to this amazing recipe! I, too, serve with the Sausage, Apple & Cranberry stuffing and it's a perfect match. I also serve with smashed yams with orange juice, Cranberry Sauce Extrordinaire (also from this site) and creamy mashed potatoes... it's a perfect meal! We love Roasted Butternut Squash soup with rolls and salad the night before. It's filling, but leaves plenty of room for the Big Day's Menu! Thanks Ibby!! (if you're a new cook I highly recommend trying this, it's simple to follow and always turns out)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I've made this recipe the past two Thanksgivings and plan to use it again this year. The turkey always comes out moist, and the gravy has amazing flavor! The only thing I do differently is add a lot more chicken stock at the bottom of the roasting pan (a lot of it evaporates during cooking).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
I'm updating my review after several years because I could not have Thanksgiving without this recipe. The turkey comes out wonderfully every time and the gravy it makes has become the stuff of legend in my family. The flavor of the turkey is such a hit with friends and family, that I have been asked to bring the turkey to a Thanksgiving celebration at someone else's house! ------------ This didn't make for the juciest turkey, but the bird came out looking like it was right out of a magazine and smelling fabulous. The gravy I made from the pan juices was literally the best I have ever had EVER! And everyone else said so too. Next time I would brine my bird before hand to make it juicy, because that's all it's lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
The turkey did come out wonderful. Very moist.I am changing this review to give it 4 stars for the turkey ONLY. The gravy was not a favorite for us. The gravy was very, very, sweet. I had 2 pkgs of McCormick turkey gravy on hand that I made and added to it, and still very sweet. So I added some white wine to it. That did take some of the sweetness away, but still left it very sweet. If I do make this turkey recipe again, which I probably will. I would not use the drippings for the gravy. I would use store bought or make some ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEESA2YOU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This recipe is going to be standard from now on for Turkey with me. I cooked a Turkey last week (August -- I know but it was good practice and I had an extra bird in my freezer). Had to substitute cider with Simply Apple juice and added a fresh sliced Granny smith for the fruit essence and fished it out of reduction later; lime zest for lemon. It is truly the Maple Syrup that makes this. My butter was a bit wet as I increased the ingredients but no matter. I did not incorporate the veggies but melded the drippings with some stock and the gravy was out of this world. I separated the butter from the drippings and used it to crisp up potatoes. Dried marjoram worked fine. I had fresh Thyme from garden. I cooked bird in dome-covered roasting pan (Oneida)-- basted ONCE! and it came out perfectly tender. Great recipe. Only took 2.5 - 3 hours with 20 pounder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I have made this recipe on two occassions. Both times I got rave reviews. I never did get the gravy to thicken, but it is incredible just the same. For the second time, I put the Turkey in a roasting bag and it came out even better. I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
OMG!!!!!!!!! Deeeeeeeee...Licious! This was my first Thankgiving making my own turkey and with this recipe I couldn't fail! It came out so moist an tasty. My family hurt themselves so bad on this turkey!LOL There were absolutley no leftovers! This recipe made the day so very enjoyable! The gravy came out awesome too! I am not a turkey eater either but this recipe was so good that I might not wait till next thanksgiving to give it another go around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I would give this 5 stars but the gravy was too sweet for my taste and my guest. It sucked because we were all looking forward to mashed potatoes with savory gravy but it was more thickened maple syrup. I will make the turkey like this again but will opt out the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PridaFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
This is my third time making a turkey with this recipe and it turns out juicy and flavorful every time. The gravy is especially nice on mashed potato. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States