Maple Pecan Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
These were a big hit at work! The recipe turns out perfectly as written.(I did add a pinch of salt though.) They even came out of the glass baking dish quite easily. The 2nd time I made them I added a tablespoon of bourbon to the pecan & maple filling and toasted the pecans as I would with a pecan pie. It adds another depth of flavor that I really like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
My all time favorite recipe. I've made it dozens of times following the recipe to the tee and making numerous variations, either way, they always turn out great. My favorite thing to do is candy or make a praline out of the pecans before adding them, really takes the bars to another level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Everyone who tried it said it was better than pecan pie! Pure maple syrup is a must. I greased the pan and they came out easily. I also doubled the pecans and it was the perfect amount. You're going to want to double the recipe, it's that good. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I am not a pecan pie fan but assumed these are similar. I tried making the recipe tonight and gave them 5 stars for the flavor and easy prep but I had some problems. Tracy, I hope your or someone else can help me because the flavor was delicious and I'd like to make them often. I made them exactly according to the recipe except for using a whisk to mix them instead of a mixer. I was unsure if the shortbread should go up the sides of the pan or just cover the bottom as I have never made shortbread before. I baked them 17 minutes and they were done perfectly in the corners but not in the middle. I had no problem getting them out of the pan and I put nothing on or in it. I will try again and will add a touch of salt to the delicious shortbread as others suggested because I also thought it could use a touch. Please help if someone out there can. I did use authentic dark maple syrup because that is all I will buy as it has the best flavor. Thanks, Janis
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Phenomenal! Made this exactly as written, using real maple syrup. Had to make 2 batches in one week because my husband and I ate the first batch and didn't have any to share for the holidays! I will need to be careful with this recipe because I could make it over and over and over...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Delicious! I added some salt. Great recipe, so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Wonderful recipe. Everyone loved it. Best cookie I've made in ages. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Doubled the recipe and cooked in a 9.5x13.5 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
These are just perfect. Easy and quick to make, with delicious, buttery, soft, gooey, brown sugary results. The maple is subtle, and I was worried it would be overpowering. I doubled the recipe and used a 9x13 pan. I might try increasing the filling next time to make the bars more substantial, but they really are dreamy the way they are. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
The shortbread is way too runny. You can't even prick it with a fork as the recipe indicates. After cooking it for 20 minutes, it was still way too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States