Maple Pecan Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2000
add a scoup of maple pecan ice cream to warm pie and it will be a heavenly experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
I made this pie for my husband and he loved it. I didn't think the kids would like it because of the pecans--I was wrong. They wanted a second piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
a nice pie - not my favorite pecan pie recipe, however. I prefer a more traditional pie, perhaps. Easy to make, though, and a hit with the family. Lots and lots and lots of syrup goes into this one, folks, so forget the diet. I used a 10" graham cracker pie crust, and the filling fit perfectly. I'd recommend 10" over 9" if you choose to not make your own crust to avoid spillage. The maple flavor did not overpower the rest of the pie's ingredients and added a different spin on the standard pecan pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER-SAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
One of the best pie recipes I've tried. I chose to brush the syrup on generously after the pie came from the oven. It gets even better after resting in the fridge for a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
I used pre-made pie shells and skipped to the pie-making section. The insides seemed to make 1.5 pies, so I put enough into one pie, going heavier on the pecans. Then, with the remaining syrupy stuff, I made another pie, adding almost another 3/4 cup of chopped pecans. Both pies came out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I don't make pie crusts, but this filling is the best pecan pie filling I or my family has ever tasted. It has become a family tradition at the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I loved the flavor of this pie, but it ended up being a little too much liquid in the center. Maybe I didn't bake it long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This is fabulous. I made this before Thanksgiving as a test run. I make it according to the written recipe and double it. I use deep dish pie crusts (pre-made). It goes like wildfire. My first successful pecan pie recipe and it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I LOVED the flavor of this, though I did alter it somewhat. I added a 1/4 cup of Jack Daniels Honey Whiskey, and I loved it, though I had a small problem. It came out a little TOO gooey. It didn't firm up as much as a "normal" pecan pie does. Is there any kind of adjustments I should be making when adding that 1/4 cup? Also, glad I read the review & bought a 10" crust. I was gonna make mine but I thought the graham cracker crust was an awesome idea. I also added about a 1/4 cup of pecans to make it 1 1/2 cups total. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made this for my pecan pie loving family as I don't like pecan pie. I now love THIS pecan pie, and this one only! Holy smokes the filling (I used my own crust) is incredible...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flecka

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States