Maple Meltaways Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
I made these for the office and added a butter/maple/sugar glaze and they were gone in 5 minutes with a note that they were the best cookies they'd ever had. A few tips: don't flatten when you put the pecan on top, they spread, and if your kitchen is warm put the formed cookies on the sheet in the frige for a few minutes so they won't spread too much. A great recipe I will use over and over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I always look for new cookie recipes around Christmas and this one appealed to me. However, when I saw the up and down reviews, I was hesitant to try it. I can say I'm really glad that I did. These are tender, buttery, tasty and attractive! I didn't change the recipe at all. You should make sure your butter is soft (use the real thing), but I don't recommend putting it in your microwave. I used a small cookie scoop to keep the size uniform, which I think is also important. Mix the dough thoroughly. I had some butter on the top of the mixing bowl that I incorporated into a couple of cookies and these really spread out! Otherwise, the other cookies were fine and maintained their shape. Mine took 12 minutes exactly at 350º, and when done, I let them cool on the cookie sheet about 10 minutes before removing them to a wire cooling rack. The maple flavor is very delicate, so if you want a heavier maple taste, you may want to make a thin maple glaze for garnish once the cookies are completely cool. My husband loved them just the way they were, and I will be making these again for sure. Thanks, Denise for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
Nice and buttery, kind of like shortbread. I ran out of pecan halves, so I finished up dipping the tops into pecan pieces, and it worked just as well. Next time I might try rolling them in pecan meal. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Osceola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Right out of the oven these were awesome, warm and chewy, but when they cooled they got very hard. I wish they'd stayed chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajo263

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I liked the idea of a maple cookie but I am not a huge fan of artificial maple flavor so I did make a big change: I subsituted real maple syrup for the sugar. With the added moisture did have to add a bit more flour ....but I liked the natural flavored end product
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I am trying to make a variety of flavors of Christmas cookies and picked this one. One of the reviewers thought the cookies tasted floury. I actually thought the opposite and thought, for the amount of sugar, they tasted rather sugary and a little crunchy. For some reason, I was thinking they would be like shortbread, but not at all. I did not have any pecans, and wanted the maple flavor to stand out. I used a modified version of a maple icing from another cookie recipe on the site. I made 1/2 recipe and got 18 cookies with a cookie scoop. My favorite part of the cookie was the icing, but I am actually reviewing the cookie. Based on the picture, I was surprised that these cookies spread quite a bit to, so make sure to leave them in a mound. They also get even more crispy as they cool, which I didn't care for, but that could possibly help with that. I wish these would have worked for Christmas. I put them out, but they didn't get eaten like the others. It could have been because they were so flat, but for me it was the texture and sugary taste of the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
Took this one to my club meeting. Ladies loved it. I liked it because it was inexpensive to make, but tasty and easy . Meanestjean in Connecticut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
Sorry, but I was not as impressed as the previous bakers...nice maple flavor, but the cookies themselves turn into a floury paste in your mouth-almost everyone at Thanksgiving Dinner agreed with me. Sorry, but I won't make these again :^(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Gearity Bory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Living In: Deer Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I made these cookies twice and loved them! I will say do not use margarine!! As most know, real butter is key! My cookies didn't flatten out. I had to flatten them slightly before putting them in the oven. I also did not have any pecan halves so I too used a maple glaze which really MADE the cookie! Everyone seemed to love them! I was very pleased with the end result! Thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Kristofeck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I was excited about this recipe because I love maple but I was really disappointed with this cookie. First of all, there is hardly any maple flavor. The flavor is decent but takes more like a straight up butter cookie. Second, the cookies did not spread at all so the 12 minutes the recipe calls for is way off. Even after flattening them more, they have still been in my oven for over a half hour now and are still doughy inside. Decent cookie but the recipe could use a few tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States