Maple Kale Crisps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sandceaton
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I replaced the olive oil with coconut oil and the kale chips were so good. Next time, I might reduce the salt to 1/2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Mine are still in the oven but, I have tasted them and they are very good. The only change I made was rather than salt I used one teaspoon of Tony Chachere's Cajun seasoning for a little kick. I also mixed the oil, syrup and seasoning together and then tossed the leaves with my hands after drizzling on the mixture. I set the timer for 10 minutes and they barely started to crisp; after turning them over I set it again for 5 minutes, they are better now they have cooked down, so I reset it for 5 more minutes. Timer just went off. They are very close not, but five more minutes should do it. Twenty-five minutes total.I turned them over each time so they won't burn. There are certainly a lot less after cooking down. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I've been making kale chips for years now, and when I found this recipe it was like a light bulb going off. Maple syrup goes really well with kale! I use almond oil instead of olive oil, although the saturated-to-unsaturated profiles are virtually identical. There's also a variation I've seen floating around where you use bacon grease instead of oil to make "maple bacon kale chips". I used 100% grade A syrup. Grade B is lighter and not as thick. If you like kale chips, this is a great variation to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Oh my gosh!!! So good! I don't usually review things but...too good not to! Just one tip remove right after baking from the sheet. I was using it as a garnish for salmon and let the kale sit...my mistake. I just scraped it off and good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I mix my oil and maple syrup (REAL maple syrup please!) in a ziploc and let it sit for a few minutes. I spread it on my dehydrator trays before sprinkling with salt. Lots of salt. I then turn on my dehydrator to 110 degrees for 8 hours. I love this. It is like caramel popcorn with kale instead of corn. Definitely one of my favorites - even the kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I had made baked Kale chips before, and was intrigued by this variation. I read the reviews, and decided that I'd halve the maple syrup, because I didn't want them to be too sweet. A ratio of 1 Tbsp. oil to 1 Tbsp. syrup seemed right, and it was! However, my "bunch" of kale was big I think, because when cut and laid out in a single layer filled two large cookie sheets. Even though I did whisk the oil and syrup to blend them in advance, and tossed the torn kale pieces well to coat them (as if tossing a salad), I ended up with uneven texture--great flavour, but some chips were a little chewy, while others were crispy. Next time, I'm doubling the oil and syrup (2 T. each) to better coat the amount of kale I have, and lowering the oven temperature by 25 degrees, because after 10 minutes (alternating the sheets on top and bottom racks halfway through) some were almost burnt. Nevertheless, very popular with everyone...even my four-year-old granddaughter! Will make again, and often, I expect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Yummy! The only problem is that the directions are a bit vague. Be sure to rub each leaf with oil to evenly crisp during baking. You should do the same with the maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
WOW! I found it to be fabulous and very unique! The only thing I changed was to use Sugar Free, no calorie maple syrup. I will be serving it at a BBQ on Monday and can't wait for people's reactions when they learn it is kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I can't believe the low stars. For the person who had too sticky and too sweet, are you sure you measured right? Or did you use processed syrup, not real maple? We made these and after they cooled for a minute, they were flaky crisp, with a slightly sweet taste, mixed in with a touch of salt. I combine the oil and the syrup and after pouring on the mixture, I mixed and scrunched the kale together on the baking sheet to achieve an even coating. A surprisingly HUGE hit even for my healthy food "neigh-sayers."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Converse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Loved the sweetness - my husband and I ate them all up before they were even really cooled off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Parma Crisps

See how to make easy, crispy parmesan croutons.

Kale vs. Potato Chips on the Better Show

Watch the crew at Allrecipes compare chips (and more!) on the Better Show.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States