Maple Glazed Turkey Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This was SO great but I deducted one star because the recipe doesn't mention anything about injecting the meat with the glaze, or letting it marinate at least overnight. So I amended for this and added a side dish in the pan: While I didn't have time to marinate the bird for more than a few hours, I rubbed the glaze under the skin and also injected it into the meat. This helped. I didn't have any liquid smoke, and wanted a smoky element, so I instead used some hickory seasoning (from Costco) with smoke flavor in it. It complimented the flavor profile nicely. I reduced salt for health reasons and personal preference. I stuffed the cavity of the breast with cornbread stuffing. No sweet elements added because I wanted it as a foil to the sweetness of the bird. It was perfect. I surrounded the turkey, in the pan, with baby carrots so they'd pick up the maple glaze. Then I crumbled some walnuts over them. I didn't have time to cook at that low temperature, and my bird was eight pounds, so I instead cooked at 400 degrees and wrapped the entire thing in foil. The last forty five minutes, I uncovered the top and switched from bake to roast and caramelized the skin. Breast side up where the fat was. The turkey was very flavorful with just the right hint of sweetness. I don't like overly sweet meat, and this was perfect! The carrots, due to their own sweetness, got even sweeter with the glaze they cooked in and were just perfect. The walnuts added a nice nutty touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaptMicha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brookeville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
One of the best turkey breast recipes I've found, but you have to work a bit to flavor the meat. Loosen the skin from meat between the strings holding the boneless roast together. Using a brush or similar implement, force the glaze between the skin and meat and also into interior of the roast. Cook at 350 F but no higher or the sugar in the glaze will burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This was way too sweet for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Made this for Christmas 2013. Amazing! Family loved it. I used a 6lb bone in turkey breast and just adjusted the amount of servings to 12 for the ingredients. Only thing I did additional was brine the turkey overnight in a maple and brown sugar brine. Like other reviewers I also injects the glaze prior to baking. I'm a turkey novice so I was pleasantly surprised at how easy this was. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
don't know why but at 325 the turkey breast wasn't even close to the 170 internal temp...I'll have to try it again...but I think the temp needs to be higher...I'd also like to try infusing the turkey with the marinade...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Doubled the recipe for a 7 lb turkey breast roast for Thanksgiving and we LOVED IT! Used the drippings to make gravy and it had an awesome flavor of sweet from the syrup and heat from the cayenne... My husband couldn't stop "grunting" his enjoyment throughout the meal... He's a man of few compliments and this one hit the target! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I read the reviews which only added the modification of injecting the marinade into the turkey rather than simply brushing it on. (Since I have tried brushing on a marinade in another recipe, I know flavor gets lost.) Mix ingredients as directed--the combination of flavors was perfect. I threw in brussel sprouts and chopped red potatoes around the turkey and drizzled the marinade over those too! To my amazement, the veggies were the first to be completely devoured by my family. I kicked up the oven temperature to 375 for 1.5 hours, but not every oven is the same. I simply know that my oven tends to undercook if I don't adjust the temp. Great, GREAT recipe! This can be used on a whole chicken as well, we found out. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I enjoyed this recipe in a crockpot. The only criticism I have is that you shouldn't make gravy with the drippings. WAY too sweet for gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momuv4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I did this recipe and did it on the BBQ ! It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
EXCELLENT! I really don't care for smoked foods but this didn't have a smoked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States