Maple Glazed Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
The whole family loved it. I made a few changes: first, I marinated the tofu in soy sauce for a few hours before cooking. I pre-baked the tofu to give it a meatier texture. I used canned pineapple tidbits for the pineapple juice, then threw the tidbits into the pan at the end of cooking. Next time, I will saute onions and peppers to add to it. It was a winner with all family members!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was my first time cooking tofu and my family loved it. I cooked it with sliced mushrooms, a quartered white onion and a sliced green bell pepper. I then mixed fettuccine noodles with fresh baby spinach and topped it with the maple glazed tofu/veggies. I added a little bit of hot sauce to balance the sweetness of the maple. I thought it was a little too sweet and needed something to balance it out, so I added a tablespoon of sriracha hot chili sauce. My family loved it and gobbled the whole bowl up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bronzon

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Excellent recipe. We just made it for Easter for the vegetarians in the family (i.e. me LOL). We followed some of the other reviewers suggestions like marinating the tofu in soy sauce, adding onions and pineapple tidbits. We also added whole cooked carrots and asparagus to the mix. It was sooooo good. I was worried it would be too sweet also, but I feel the mustard and soy sauce balanced it out. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin' for cash
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I used a little less mustard (didn't measure it) marinated the tofu in soy sauce, and used a 14 oz package of tofu. I increased the liquid ingredients by 1/2 and had alot left in the pan, so I don't think I needed to. I just wanted the tofu to top a salad. I could see how it would be good with veggies over rice. We did enjoy it, but I probably wouldn't make it again...too many calories. Was a nice recipe to try, and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
LOVED IT! I added a tiny drop of liquid smoke seasoning and a tiny drop of sesame oil, and this made it absolutely perfect. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMHJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keflavík, Suðurnes, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Was a decent recipe. The glaze tasted a bit too much of mustard when I made it so ended up about doubling the soy and adding a tsp of Worcestershire sauce and a bit more syrup. Though the mustard I used was Dijon mustard with whole seeds in it and that might have been the problem. Next time I will be using half the mustard, and adding the Worcestershire again. Definitely worth a try, if you like tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dreygan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Delicious! I marinated the tofu in soy sauce for about 15 mins and used orange juice instead of pineapple (I'm allergic). I also added a bunch of steamed veggies to the glaze just before it was done reducing. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Voorheesville, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
My kids love this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Very tasty recipe, I felt compelled to add shredded ginger, which perfected the sauce. There was enough sauce here for 2 bricks of tofu, so next time I'd make a half recipe for one brick. Sliced green onions also ought to be sliced on top before serving. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
one of my families favorites. Even my daughters meat eating friends are asking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Maple Salmon

Make this delicious, easy salmon flavored with maple.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States