Maple Glazed Sweet Potatoes with Bacon and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I made this with butternut squash instead of sweet potatoes and oh man was it YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SisterSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Absolutely cant go wrong with this side dish! The combination is very nice. I ended up using about 1 tsp dried thyme, and 2 small red onions thinly sliced. I also cut down the roasting time to 30-35 minutes. Since I made this a day ahead of time I wanted the reheat time not not get them all mushy and over cooked. Never again will I for myself to eat the marshmallow topped goop from a can! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Compton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: White Oak, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
it was the one thing on my thanksgiving table that was commented on over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving and have been asked to bring it for Christmas dinner too. Everyone loved it. I made it exactly as written. Like others on this comment string, this is the first time I have rated a recipe, but this one is so good it deserved an endorsement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I wanted to make sweet potatoes for Thanksgiving dinner, but I wanted to do something different from the usual sweet potato pie, so I gave this recipe a try. I made it exactly as the recipe said, and it came out fantastic. A good friend of mine told me, after dinner, that if he ever found out I stopped making this dish, he would never forgive me. (Though, as another reviewer pointed out, the temp is a bit high. Next time, I'll turn the oven down a little.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lokeriel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fillmore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Wanted to make a savory sweet potato dish, and this was just perfect! Followed the recipe closely and it turned out perfectly! I only wish I would have doubled the recipe as we just couldn't get enough! Can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
So good, everyone loved it at our Thanksgiving dinner. Really liked the flavor combo of maple, caramelized onion, bacon and thyme. Of course everything is always better with bacon, can't go wrong with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This didn't take as long as I thought it would, so very worth every prep min it took. very Delicious everyone enjoyed it for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakdale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This is now one of our annual dishes for Thanksgiving. It's a Great change from the sweet marshmallow kind. Sweet and Savory....it was a Big Hit every one loved it. I didn't change a thing, except we used Beef bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carla
Living In: Colville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
To die for!!! We loved this recipe, will definately make it again. I didn't have an hour to cook so I started by cooking the potatoes in the microwave to soften them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States