Maple Glazed Sweet Potatoes with Bacon and Caramelized Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This has become a "must have" dish with my dinner group and renamed Sweet Potato Crack. I've learned I can prepare most of it earlier in the day (roast potatoes, fry bacon, caramelize onions)waiting to combine and heat through right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I made these last year and my friends and family could not get enough! This is now a must have at all holiday gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I pureed these instead of roasting them and used bacon bits instead of sliced bacon. I thought it was really good, but a whole bag of bacon bits was not enough and I have a feeling 5 slices of bacon would not have been nearly enough either. This would be good without the maple syrup, for those on a low sugar diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
A good recipe for sweet potatoes. I think they are sweet enough as it is, so I leave out the maple syrup. The result is similar to turkey dressing. My family ate twice as much sweet potato as usual using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This is one of my favorite ways to have sweet potatoes. I just used regular maple syrup instead of pure maple syrup and it was great. Have already made it a few times and plan to make plenty more in future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Good - but something about it - wouldn't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
OMG!!! What a great way to have Sweet Potatoes! These were brought to my house for Thanksgiving and were quite the "hit." I found your recipe and have recently prepared them for dinner guests. Again, a "hit!" This recipe is a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Good but a little on the work intensive side and next time will cut down on the thyme. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I made this with butternut squash instead of sweet potatoes and oh man was it YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SisterSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Absolutely cant go wrong with this side dish! The combination is very nice. I ended up using about 1 tsp dried thyme, and 2 small red onions thinly sliced. I also cut down the roasting time to 30-35 minutes. Since I made this a day ahead of time I wanted the reheat time not not get them all mushy and over cooked. Never again will I for myself to eat the marshmallow topped goop from a can! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Compton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: White Oak, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States