Maple Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Katherine
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I have used this recipe 3 times and have received rave reviews on the end product. I cook the mixture to 234 degrees. As the fudge winds up just a bit soft, I sprinkle chopped walnuts on lightly greased waxed paper, add the stirred fudge, and roll into a log. It makes a wonderful maple nut roll. I like that I don't have to add additional white sugar. It is a pure Maple product...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
The fudge tasted OK, but the texture was horrible! The temp never made it to 240F after 45 minutes the mixture went dark brown (guess I was making toffee). Adding the walnuts turned the mixture into moon rocks. Here's a photo, albeit not a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
The "Beat mixture until it thickens and loses its gloss." that she speaks of is about 7 to 8 minutes normally. I would guess that those of you who got a taffy consistency, didn't beat it that long. I use my kitchenaid with the paddle attachment. It then needs to be chilled as with any fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
So, I decided not to take any chances and added about 3/4 c sugar to this, and had no problems at all. (Even though syrup has plenty of sugar in it!) I didn't quite have 2 c syrup left so I added a bit more half-and-half. Once it cooled down to about 115F, I only had to mix it for a few minutes before it was ready to go in the pan. I added the vanilla and some crumbled up maple bacon for a salty twist, and it turned out GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jerusalem, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Pocola, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
First off I should tell everyone that though the ingredients to this recipe are correct the instructions are too vague. The original creator of this recipe is much more detailed in her description of what to do. The first two steps are pretty close to the original but when Suzy means lukewarm it should be more specifically around 120 F, this will take around half an hour to reach. And I believe the main reason most people are having trouble with it setting up is because they are not beating it long enough. You first off all need a stand mixer (heavy duty is the best) because the mixture is so thick. Then you beat on a medium speed until it loses its gloss like she said, however the proper loss of gloss comes after about 7-10 minutes of continuous beating (another good reason to use a stand mixer). The end result will be an attractive pale tan color, pretty much a few shades darker than an eggshell white. I hope people take my advice and try this recipe again because it really is a good one, if only the instructions were a bit more specific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I am glad I read the other reviews. I followed this to the letter and ended up with maybe a limp taffy. I thought it might have been me so I purchased more ingredients to try again. I will look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I've made this recipe twice this week and both time it turned out excellent! I madfe it without any changes or additions to the ingredient list. A coupke of suggestions for anyone having trouble: make sure you use the appropriate size sauce pan, if its too large the mixture heats too unevenly since you are not stirring it. Be patient, especially when waiting for it to get to the correct temp, it may take a while, but its imprtant fot it to hit at least the lower end of the soft ball stage 234. Lastly, do not use a machine of any sort to stir the cooled fudge, it is very thick and may burn out the motor. also if you stir by hand you are less likely to miss the turn point. Again be patient, those who complained about the mixture not hardening most likely did't stir it long enough, I got blisters stirrin the first batch, but i finally set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
OMG - I can't believe how many people ended up with the same mess. This recipe should be removed. It's incomplete, I had a foggy memory about fudge making and chose this as the first one. Man..EXPENSIVE (TIME & MONEY)- results..I put it in the freezer and it's still not settled, that was like..a year or two ago. But this is the recipe I followed, it never did anything but GOO. Because it was so costly to make, I use it to top sweet potatoes in the over, or as a ham glaze - it's just syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This recipe will work if you add 1 cup of white sugar. Follow the rest of the recipe and it is good. I tried this today and it failed the first time. I saw people mention sugar and I reheated my bad batch, added 1 cup of white sugar, let cool to 110f and then beat with wooden spoon until well mixed. Let cool and it set up perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Maple fudge is hard to make, that's for sure, but this recipe will work as it's close to one I've made. I went through a lot of maple before getting it right. The recipe I've used is 2 cups maple syrup (not pancake syrup), 1/2 cup light (table) cream, and a pinch of salt. That's it. You have to get the temperature high enough, near 240F. Coating the side of the pan with butter will help prevent boilover. Don't stir it while it cooks. Remove the pan from the heat and let it cool to 110F. Don't stir. Using a wooden spoon mix for about 3-4 minutes. If you don't mix it enough it won't set up, and if you mix it too much it will seize in the pan, becoming a hard mass almost instantly. I've erred both ways. It will look less glossy when it's ready. Turn the fudge into the pan and let it sit. And that's it. I think maple fudge is harder to make than other fudges. There is a lot less room for error with this recipe, so if you're not just fiddling around for fun (and you'd be upset if you lost a few dollars worth of syrup) then try something more likely to succeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States