Maple Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This is obviously not Suzy's original recipe because I've seen it on other websites, but there are some instructions missing here that are necessary for a positive experience to occur. :) The ingredients here are listed correctly, albeit the cream should be heavy whipping cream. I actually substituted coconut cream for a dairy free version without a hitch. There is no need for any sugar to be added! While bringing the maple syrup, corn syrup and (whipping) cream mixture to a boil, stir constantly. After it starts to boil, stop stirring until the mixture reaches no more than 235 degrees (soft ball stage). Take it off the heat and cool in the pot until lukewarm (120 degrees) without stirring. Transfer to a bowl for a stand mixer (heavy duty). Beat for 7-10 minutes on medium speed (I doubt this could be done by hand). It will instantaneously lose it's sheen (and turn from the 'taffy' some have described to what is now fudge). Toss in the vanilla and nuts if you're using them, stir, and then spread into the prepared pan. I always use buttered waxed paper for fudge, and when chilled let it stand at room temp for an hour before cutting into cubes. Makes life so much easier than fighting to get fudge out of a pan when I can just lift it out! I love that this maple fudge is made from pure maple syrup! It just melts in your mouth and the taste is right on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I did this perfectly but came out with a soft taffy. It was tasty, and I rolled it into wax paper for candy. . .but I wanted fudge! I don't have a clue what I did wrong, but I know that I have never seen another fudge recipe without marshmallows and using so much maple syrup. It seems inevitable that this would turn out as a candy. I should have known better as an avid candy maker. . .I was just hoping to go healthier this year at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Aloisi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I had a recipe for maple syrup fudge years ago and couldn't find it. I remembered that it only took about four ingredients, so I thought maybe this was it. I tried it twice. The first time it was impossibly burned before it ever got to softball stage. I thought maybe I just tried to cook it too fast since you aren't supposed to stir it after it boils. So I cooked it on a lower temperature and watched it very closely, taking it off the heat as soon as my thermometer read softball. It was still slightly scorched in the middle of the pan. But mainly it isn't fudge at all. It is more like taffy or maple flavored caramels. It isn't bad tasting, but I wanted fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katherine
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I have used this recipe 3 times and have received rave reviews on the end product. I cook the mixture to 234 degrees. As the fudge winds up just a bit soft, I sprinkle chopped walnuts on lightly greased waxed paper, add the stirred fudge, and roll into a log. It makes a wonderful maple nut roll. I like that I don't have to add additional white sugar. It is a pure Maple product...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
The fudge tasted OK, but the texture was horrible! The temp never made it to 240F after 45 minutes the mixture went dark brown (guess I was making toffee). Adding the walnuts turned the mixture into moon rocks. Here's a photo, albeit not a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
The "Beat mixture until it thickens and loses its gloss." that she speaks of is about 7 to 8 minutes normally. I would guess that those of you who got a taffy consistency, didn't beat it that long. I use my kitchenaid with the paddle attachment. It then needs to be chilled as with any fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
So, I decided not to take any chances and added about 3/4 c sugar to this, and had no problems at all. (Even though syrup has plenty of sugar in it!) I didn't quite have 2 c syrup left so I added a bit more half-and-half. Once it cooled down to about 115F, I only had to mix it for a few minutes before it was ready to go in the pan. I added the vanilla and some crumbled up maple bacon for a salty twist, and it turned out GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jerusalem, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Pocola, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
First off I should tell everyone that though the ingredients to this recipe are correct the instructions are too vague. The original creator of this recipe is much more detailed in her description of what to do. The first two steps are pretty close to the original but when Suzy means lukewarm it should be more specifically around 120 F, this will take around half an hour to reach. And I believe the main reason most people are having trouble with it setting up is because they are not beating it long enough. You first off all need a stand mixer (heavy duty is the best) because the mixture is so thick. Then you beat on a medium speed until it loses its gloss like she said, however the proper loss of gloss comes after about 7-10 minutes of continuous beating (another good reason to use a stand mixer). The end result will be an attractive pale tan color, pretty much a few shades darker than an eggshell white. I hope people take my advice and try this recipe again because it really is a good one, if only the instructions were a bit more specific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I am glad I read the other reviews. I followed this to the letter and ended up with maybe a limp taffy. I thought it might have been me so I purchased more ingredients to try again. I will look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I've made this recipe twice this week and both time it turned out excellent! I madfe it without any changes or additions to the ingredient list. A coupke of suggestions for anyone having trouble: make sure you use the appropriate size sauce pan, if its too large the mixture heats too unevenly since you are not stirring it. Be patient, especially when waiting for it to get to the correct temp, it may take a while, but its imprtant fot it to hit at least the lower end of the soft ball stage 234. Lastly, do not use a machine of any sort to stir the cooled fudge, it is very thick and may burn out the motor. also if you stir by hand you are less likely to miss the turn point. Again be patient, those who complained about the mixture not hardening most likely did't stir it long enough, I got blisters stirrin the first batch, but i finally set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Fudge

This rich, chocolaty fudge is so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States