Maple Dill Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I used a bag of baby carrots. I poured off most of water after the carrots had cooked and then added in about 2 tbsp. butter, 4 tbsp. brown sugar, sprinkled on some dill, salt and pepper. The sauce smelled so good that I wanted it to stick to the carrots a little better so I mixed 1 tsp. cornstarch into 1 tsp. water and poured into the pan to thicken the yummy sauce. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Made these last night, they were wonderful. I used a fat free butter substitute and Splenda brown sugar blend. I found the sauce a bit runny like most people, but found that if you turn the heat way up after mixing in the butter and sugar rather than turning it down, the sauce will thicken and stick to the carrots. Thanks for a great recipe, we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by áßßy nðrmàl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sunrise, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
We liked these. I used 3/4 t dried dill, next time I will only use 1/2t. I also cut the black pepper down to 1/4 t. The ammount listed was too much. The recipe should say to boil the carrots, they don't really cook when simmering. I drained out the excess water & added the rest of the ingredients. I wanted to use baby carrots but the store was out so I used reg size ones. It was a little runny. I made these with pork chops. Thanks, I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
The addition of dill to a standard brown sugar carrot glaze is interesting. My problem is, why is this called "maple" dill carrots, when there is no maple? This should be made with maple, rather than brown sugar, to have that name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamlin, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
MY FAMILY LOVED THESE...I USED A BAG OF BABY CARROTS, AND ADDED CUT CARROTS. I ALSO STEAMED THEM IN THE MICROWAVE UNTIL TENDER,MELTED OTHER INGREDIENTS IN SAUCE PAN,TOSSED ALL TOGETHER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
My oh my, delicious! I drained all the water off when they were tender enough, and cooked on high to get a nice thick sticky sauce, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I steamed the carrots to retain more nutrients, then tossed everything into a Pyrex Portable casserole. Traveled well "over the river & thru the woods" on a 30 minute trip to grandmother's house. Yummy and unique, everyone raved! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I really like this recipe and have made it three different ways. 1) Made as written which is very good, but should be named "Brown Sugar Dill Carrots." 2) Made as directed plus added 2 drops of Maple Extract to get the maple flavor you'd expect from the recipe title...also very good. 3) Most recently, I substituted 2 T. Pure Maple Syrup in place of the 2 T. brown sugar. I like it best this way. I've also found that 1 1/2 T. butter is enough, and we prefer it with just 1/8 tsp each of the salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Have made these twice this week. The first time I cooked the carrots on the stove and today I used the microwave. Both came out delicious. I will trying making them with maple syrup next time. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Fantastic recipe... thanks so much. I think the times might be a little off though cause it took a lot more than 10 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Utah, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States