Maple Crunch Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Gretchen
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Made this as directed, except I subsituted Maple & Brown Sugar instant oatmeal for the rolled oats, and maple syrup for the maple extract. It's quite tasty and the maple cream layer cuts the sweetness of the apple and streusel layers well. I think my only complaint is that the maple cream layer seems a little soft...I wonder what would happen if I left the extra 1/2 cup of milk out of it. I couldn't cut and serve a piece...it was more like dishing out banana pudding or something of similar consistency. I also left the apples in the skillet (didn't really end up with extra syrup because of this) and the streusel on the pan to cool so I didn't have to use extra dishes. Overall though, quite tasty and a great alternative to apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This was a huge hit!!! I did get this recipe from the original apple cream pie site, and you are right. Maple works much better!!! I did add vanilla to both the streusel and the cream part. Then I also drizzled warm caramel over the top before serving. It was a major hit- I didn't even get a piece before it was gone! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nyckie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This was really good. I halved the cream cheese layer because some people said it didn't go well with the apples. I didn't have any maple extract so I used maple granola in the cruncy topping, and I actually made some maple pudding with real maple syrup and poured that over the apples before putting the topping on. The flavors all melded together well, and it was actually a pretty good pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
I thought this pie was SOOOO good! For some reason, I didn't have extra sauce from the apples to drizzle over the top. Next time, I will use more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
The apple and streusel layers are great, BUT the maple cream layer just doesn't go well with the rest of the pie. It just wasn't a good tasting pie because of the cream layer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
I thought this pie was 'ok'....everyone who tried it felt the same. I followed the instructions exactly. I think maybe the pie would have tasted better if I only used half the filling, because the pie pan was overflowing with filling and it just was waaaaaaaaaay too rich (and I like rich foods!) I don't know if I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
I really liked this pie, and so did my daughter (she thought it tasted like a coffee cake). However, the other members of my family were not so keen on it (thought it was too sweet or didn't like creamy filling in an apple pie). I suspect that a 9" crust may be too small for the ingredients because it filled my 10" crust quite nicely. Although I followed the recipe exactly, I wondered how it would taste to shortcut the streusel topping using packets of instant maple & brown sugar oatmeal mixed with the flour and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
This pie is so so so delicious! I only used half of the maple cream filling in my pie and the subtle maple flavour was perfect. I'll use the other half tonight when I make another one. Thanks for such a great recipe - it'll be part of our Thanksgivings and Christmases and Summer birthdays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
Excellent variation of an apple pie! I made it for Thanksgiving and my family ALL loved it! It is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberliah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
Very Good !!! I added a few walnuts to the topping. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States