Maple Basted Roast Turkey with Cranberry Pan Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Can't go wrong with a Butterball recipe for a whole turkey! This was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
WHY do we only make turkey for Thanksgiving or Christmas? My family loves a roast turkey - OMG - they were fighting over it while I was trying to take pictures! I bought a 9 lb. turkey - just a small one to feed my family of 4 and a friend that is visiting us from NJ. I was all set to make the gravy - had all of the ingredients ready, but when I took the turkey out of the wrap - BONUS - Butterball know includes a concentrated turkey gravy in the cavity of their turkeys! Change of plans - as I wasn't sure how my family would have liked the cranberry pan gravy anyway - so I went with the included gravy packet and prepared it as directed on the packet. It was delicious gravy, by the way. I did add a bit of olive oil to the lemon juice (because I wanted the skin to crisp up nicely) and also gave it a sprinkle of salt and pepper before placing in the oven. As for the maple syrup, I read other reviewers comments that the drippings were too sweet, so I just basted the turkey twice, maybe using 1/8 of a cup of syrup, just enough to coat the bird, but not so much that it was dripping down. It added just the right amount of sweetness for us. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This was absolutely wonderful! Made for a family dinner and it went over so well. I'll admit, I skimped on ingredients- I didn't use pure maple syrup, just what I had in the pantry. I also didn't have fresh sage, so I used dried. I kept the flavors the same, but I made the sauce differently than called for in the recipe. I used fresh cranberries and cooked them in the cranberry juice with 1/2 C of OJ, brown sugar, and a little cinnamon. Brought to a boil and cooked the cranberries down. I simmered until the turkey was done, then added the drippings to the cranberry mixture before adding in corn starch slurry. Raves all around, people topped EVERYTHING on their plates with it and kept asking for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by Cookie734
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
You can't go wrong with a delicious, maple-basted whole Butterball® turkey. The meat just fell off the bone. The maple gave the turkey just the right about of sweetness (not overpowering) and the cranberry gravy was off the chain. Served with a side (I chose carrots), you have the perfect meal. We ate EVERY BIT of this turkey in about two days (even using the bones for a soup and a stock). Outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela Sackett
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
this is delicious. we enjoyed it the night we made it, then used the bones to make broth. we froze the leftover turkey and used it to make a casserole one night, a "turkey salad" for lunch another day, and turkey egg scramble still another! who says a gorgeous roasted turkey and leftover creatives should be for Thanksgiving only!!??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by Michele McCormick
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I really liked this, I think the only reason for 4 is because my go to recipe for Turkey is just better... this was an excellent fall back though. I made this exactly as stated except that I put foil over to start and meant to pull it off and forgot so my turkey looks naked! and that I added pepper and salt. I pulled together a delicious soup with the remainder. This was very good and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele McCormick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I liked the maple syrup basting idea. It gave the meat a nice flavor with the lemon and sage. The cranberry flavored gravy was one flavor too many for my liking. I like all the flavors individually, but not together. So I went ahead and made another pot of plain turkey gravy and we were all happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
We really enjoyed this. I had a 10lb turkey and followed the recipe pretty closely. I was a little short on time, so I cooked this at 350 degrees for 2 hours and let it rest about 30 minutes while I made the gravy. I did salt and pepper the turkey for seasoning, and I changed the amount of maple syrup. I only used 1/4 cup of the maple syrup and it turned out great. I really liked the texture and flavor the syrup added. I also really liked the gravy! It made way too much, so next time I would probably half it for this size turkey. We liked the flavor very much. The cranberry went well with the pan drippings and really had a perfect mix of sweet and acidic. It was a pleasant surprise as I really didn't think it was going to be to my liking. Thanks, Butterball!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Nothing beats a roast turkey! And although it was a little on the sweeter side, overall it was very tasty. My husband wasn't a huge fan of the gravy, but it was a nice departure from traditional turkey gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Yummy...I love turkey! I agree with others, though; this recipe was a bit too sweet. Although it was a great way to switch things up, I probably wouldn't trade in my regular recipe for roasted turkey. Either way, though, the Butterball turkey was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lauren's Apple Cider Roast Turkey

Apple cider brined turkey, roasted to perfection.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States