Maple Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Pretty amazing Banana bread! I love maple anything, but I never thought to put it in banana bread! I made a few substitutions based on the ingredients I had, but it worked out well! I used vanilla extract instead of maple extract, egg beaters for the eggs, I left out the nuts, added chocolate chips, and topped them with cinnamon sugar. Made mini loaves which took 25 minutes to cook. I used oil instead of butter, but it still had a butter taste since I used some butter-flavored maple pancake syrup. I KNOW this recipe would be even more amazing with pure maple syrup, but the HUGE jug I got from Vermont is nearly empty! Gives me an excuse to plan a vacation though! ;) Can't wait to try this with pure maple syrup, and I might play around with the flour(wheat/oat)and with the egg beaters, it'll also be a pretty healthy bread! Thanks so much for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I wanted more banana taste... I used the recipe as written... mostly!! I did 1/2 tap of pure vanilla, 1/4 tap of maple extract, and 1/2 tap of vanilla nut extract. I also used 2.5 bananas and added 1/2 package of banana cream pudding mix.. I put walnuts and white sugar in the bread batter... LOTS of flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Delicious! The perfect fall variation of banana bread. I made some adjustments, but five stars for a good solid recipe. (Adjustments: 1. Added a nice heaping half teaspoon of ground allspice. 2. Added about 1/8 t. fresh ground white pepper. 3. Used vanilla extract instead of maple because I didn't have maple. 4. Left out the nuts because my fiancé is allergic. 5. Accidentally included the sugar in the batter because I wasn't reading the recipe carefully enough, heheh.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
First let me say I hate it when people change a recipe and then rate it poorly. But I did change the recipe however I do love it. I replaced the butter with coconut oil (I'm dairy free), vanilla extract instead of maple extract (didn't have any), replaced milk with almond milk, added 1/2t salt and substituted whole wheat pastry flour for the white flour. I also ditched the sugar and just added a cup of walnuts and about 3/4 c of dairy free chocolate chips and to top it off I made muffins (filled tins 3/4 full baked 20 minutes). These aren't real sweet but that's fine, I wanted a muffin with a lot less refined sugar (so I only had what was in the chocolate chips) and ended up with a much healthier muffin that still is a treat and doesn't taste too healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Daus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pompey, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I liked the texture of this and it rose well and baked well, but it was a little bland. I added shredded carrots to it. I think a lot of cinnamon would help it taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
No different tasting then any other normal banana bread recipe. Still a decent recipe if you like maple syrup. I am going to try Butter Pecan syrup next time to test the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
very bland; just a hint of banana came through; and didn't taste the maple at all. I will be sticking to my old banana bread recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by di19681

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This is a great recipe and I love there is only maple syrup as sweetener. I've made this before and always have added walnuts, but this time I was out so I didn't. Still love it, even without the walnuts. :) Spread with a thin layer of maple cream for a super delicious and mapley flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
It was very nice, not too sweet, but the maple syrup was wasted because the flavour was not at all apparent. I have had banana bread that was every bit as good but did not involve the expensive maple syrup as an ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cleolain

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This was incredible! The best banana bread recipe I've ever had. Hands down. I used vanilla extract and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States